Current Affairs PDF

ICC Retains India as the Host of 2021 Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup & Australia to Host Men’s T20 2020 World Cup in 2022

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

ICC Meet India retains 2021 World T20 hosting rightsOn 7th August 2020, International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that India will host the Men’s Twenty-20 (T20) Cricket World Cup 2021 (7th edition) between October – November 2021 as the Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) retained the hosting rights and Australia will host the 2020 Men’s World Cup (8th edition), which was postponed due to the global pandemic in 2022.

India – Men’s Cricket T20 World Cup:

i.The finals of the 2021 Men’s T20 World Cup will be held on 14th November 2021.

ii.The format of Men’s T20 2021 World Cup remains as it was for 2020 and the new qualification process will be adapted for the 2022 edition in Australia.

iii.The 50-over World Cup 2023 will be held in India between October – November 2023 with finals on 26th November 2023.

Women’s ODI World Cup:

i.ICC also confirmed that the 2021 Women’s One Day International (ODI) World cup in New Zealand scheduled for 6th February – 7th March 2021 has been postponed until February- March 2022 due to COVID-19 pandemic.

ii.The decision was taken by the ICC Business Corporation(IBC), the commercial subsidiary of ICC.

iii.The five teams (India, Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand) which already qualified for the 2021 event will stand for 2022.

iv.The global qualification event to determine the final three scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka in 2020 is postponed due to global pandemic and will now be held in 2021.

Recent Related News:

i.Australia women’s cricket team won the ICC Women’s T20 World cup 2020 defeating the Indian women’s cricket team by 85 runs. Australia won the title for the 5th time.

ii.Bangladesh’s youth team defeated India by three wickets in the final of ICC U19 World Cup 2020. Bangladesh team won the under-19 World Cup title for the first time.

About International Cricket Council(ICC):
Chairman– Imran Khwaja (interim)
CEO– Manu Sawhney
Headquarters– Dubai, UAE