Current Affairs PDF

India won the ODI 2020 series held from January 14–19

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Indian men’s cricket team played 3 ODIs (One Day Internationals) against Australia from January 14 – 19,2020. The ODI was part of the Australia tour of India, 2020 that consists of 3 ODIs matches, which were held at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, Maharashtra; Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot, Gujarat; M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, Karnataka.
The Indian team defeated Australian team in the 3 match ODI series by winning 2 matches (2-1).
The match highlights are as follows:Kuldeep Yadav became the 3rd fastest Indian bowler to claim 100 wickets in ODI
India’s Kuldeep Yadav (25) became the 3rd fastest Indian bowler to take 100 wickets in ODI. He achieved the feat in the 2nd ODI match which was held in Rajkot, Gujarat. He has become the 22nd bowler in India to take 100 wickets in ODI international cricket & became the 151st bowler in the world to take 100 wickets in ODIs. This is his 58th match and became the 3rd fastest Indian bowler behind teammates Mohammed Shami (56 matches) and Jasprit Bumrah (57 matches) who took 100 wickets in the fewest matches & broke Harbhajan Singh’s record who reached there in 76 ODIs. He is also the first Indian cricketer to claim two hat-tricks in international cricket during the 2nd ODI against the West Indies in Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh (AP) in Dec 2019.

Rohit Sharma breaks Hashim Amla’s record as fastest batsman to score 7000 ODI runs as opener
Rohit Gurunath Sharma became the fastest to claim 7000 ODI runs as an opener in 2nd ODI against Australia at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot,Gujarat. He achieved this feat in 137 innings. In this case, he left behind former South African batsman Hashim Amla (147 innings) and Sachin Tendulkar (160 innings).

i.Rohit is the 4th  Indian opener to score 7000 runs. Before him, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, and Virender Sehwag have done so. He also became the third batsman to score the fastest 9000 runs in ODIs in 217 innings. Virat Kohli is the fastest to 9000 runs with 194 innings. AB de Villiers is the second fastest (208 innings).

Virat Kohli became the fastest captain to complete 5000 ODI runs, broke MS Dhoni’s record
Indian captain Virat Kohli broke the record of former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the 3rd and final match of the series against Australia held in Bengaluru, Karnataka. He became the fastest captain to complete 5000 runs in ODIs. He achieved this feat by hitting a four off Mitchell Starc. Dhoni had scored 5000 runs in 127 innings. At the same time, Kohli reached in his feat by just 82nd innings. Ricky Ponting of Australia arrived in 131 innings.

Kohli also the fastest batsman to reach 11,000 runs in ODI cricket
Indian captain Virat Kohli also held the record for being the fastest captain to score 11,000 international runs. He scored 11,208 international runs as captain, surpassed the previous record held by MS Dhoni with 11,207 runs. Kohli has played 199 innings as captain, while Dhoni had played 330.

ICC ODI rankings 2020: Virat Kohli & Rohit Sharma’s reign in Batting Ranking, Bumrah also on top as bowler
As per the ICC (International Cricket Council) Men’s ODI ranking 2020 released on January 20, 2020, Indian captain Virat Kohli and vice captain Rohit Sharma strengthened their hold & ranked 1st and 2nd position respectively in batting table.On the other hand, Jaspreet Bumrah retained the top position in the bowlers list.

Key Points:
i.After a brilliant performance in the recently concluded series against Australia, Kohli strengthened the number one with 886 points and Rohit’s number two with 868 points.

Here’s the list of top3 players in ICC ODI ranking 2020:


1Virat Kohli ( India)Jasprit Jasbirsingh Bumrah (India)Ben Stokes (England)
2Rohit Gurunath Sharma       (India)Trent Alexander Boult (New Zealand )Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan)
3Mohammad Babar Azam (Pakistan)Mujeeb Ur Rahman Zadran (Afghanistan)Syed Imad Wasim Haider (known as Imad Wasim)-Pakistan


About ICC:
– 15 June 1909
Headquarters– Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE)
Chairman– Shashank Manohar
CEO– Manu Sawhneyrd