Current Affairs PDF

Celebration of India’s 75th Independence Day – 15th August 2021

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

India celebrates 75 years of Independence new

India and the Indian’s across the globe celebrated the 75th Independence Day on 15th August 2021. Independence day marks the day on which India became an independent nation within the British commonwealth.

The day remembers the sacrifices of the freedom fighters, irrespective of their gender, religion and ethnicity who fought to get independence.

The theme of the 75th Independence day is “Nation First, Always First”.

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi unfurled the National Flag at the rampart of the Red Fort, New Delhi.
  • Every year, on Independence Day the incumbent Prime Minister hoists the national flag at the red fort and the President hoists the flag on Republic Day.


i.The Indian Independence Bill came into force on the stroke of midnight on 15th August 1947 and ended 200 years of British rule in India.

ii.The Indian Independence Act 1947, partitioned British India into 2 independent nations, Pakistan and India.

Website & Mobile app for Independence day 

i.On 3rd August 2021, The government of India announced a new website for the celebration of the 75th Independence day:

  • The website was launched by Defence Secretary Dr Ajay Kumar to mark Independence Day 2021.

ii.The government has also developed “Indian IDC 2021” the official mobile by the Ministry of Defence, Government of India was developed for the occasion of the 75th Indian Independence Day.

Honours & Awards Approved by President of India:

i.Ram Nath Kovind, the President of India and the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces, has approved  144 Gallantry awards and other decorations to armed forces, police and paramilitary personnel on the eve of 75th Independence Day.

  • The awards include one Ashok Chakra, one Kirti Chakra, 15 Shaurya Chakras, four Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 116 Sena Medals (Gallantry), five Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry) and two Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry).

ii.He also awarded one Tatrakshak Medal(Gallantry) and 3 Tatrakshak Medal (Meritorious Service) to the Coast Guard Personnel to recognise their gallantry and service.

iii.He also approved 28 Mentions in Despatches to the army personnel who contributed to various military operations.

Ashok Chakra: 

Assistant Sub Inspector(ASI) Babu Ram of Jammu & Kashmir(J&K) Police was posthumously honoured with the Ashoka Chakra, India’s highest peacetime gallantry honour.

Kirti Chakra:

Altaf Hussain Bhat a Constable in the Jammu and Kashmir Police was posthumously honoured with Kirti Chakra, the 2nd in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards after Ashok Chakra.

Vayu Sena Medals:

Squadron Leader Deepak Mohanan and Wing Commander Uttar Kumar have been honoured with the Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry).

Shaurya Chakra:

Shaurya Chakra is the third highest peacetime gallantry award.

  • 6 Shaurya Chakra from the Army were awarded for Counter Terror Operations in J&K
  • one Shaurya Chakra from the Navy was awarded to CAPTAIN SACHIN REUBEN SEQUEIRA.
  • 2 Shaurya Chakra from Air Force were awarded to Group Captain Perminder Antil, Commanding officer of Su-30 MKI Squadron and Wing Commander Varun Singh, pilot in Light Combat Aircraft(LCA) Squadron from Air Force.

Click here to know more about 114 Gallantry Awards

Param Vir Chakra awardee Conferred with Honorary Captain rank:

i.Ram Nath Kovind, President of India has honoured Param Vir Chakra awardee Subedar Major Yogendra Singh Yadav with Honorary Captain rank. 

ii.Military Secretary and Colonel the Grenadiers Lt Gen Rajeev Sirohi honoured him by putting on the rank badges.

iii.He was awarded for his gallant act during 1999 Kargil where he volunteered to lead a Ghatak commando platoon of 18 Grenadiers to capture strategic bunkers on Tiger Hill.

Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav:

i.On 13th August 2021, The government of India unveiled the official logo of the ‘Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav’ celebrating the 75 years of independence.

ii.The government of India constituted a national committee under the chairmanship of PM Modi to commemorate the 75 years of independence which falls on 15th August 2022 in the form of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav.

iii.The national committee consist of 259 members. The celebration was launched on 12th March 2021, 75 weeks befor 15th August 20

iv.‘Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav’ is a national level campaign of the Government of India to celebrate the 75 years of progressive India and the history of its people, culture and achievements.