Current Affairs PDF

British architect Sir David Alan Chipperfield wins Pritzker Architecture Prize 2023

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

British architect DavidOn 7th March 2023, Sir David Alan Chipperfield (David Chipperfield), a 69-year-old British Civic Architect, urban planner and activist, won the  Pritzker Architecture Prize 2023, the architect’s most prestigious award, for his timeless modern design that confronts climate urgencies, transform social relationships and reinvigorates cities.

  • David Chipperfield is the 52nd winner of the prestigious Pritzker Architecture Prize, which is considered the most significant award in international architecture.
  • The 45th Pritzker Prize ceremony, honouring David Chipperfield will be held in Athens, Greece, in May 2023.
  • The Chair of the Jury is Alejandro Aravena, 2016 Pritzker Prize Laureate.

Note: The 1st Indian recipient of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is Balkrishna Doshi, a noted Indian architect and urban planner.

About Sir David Alan Chipperfield:

i. Sir David Alan Chipperfield was born on 18th December 1953 in London, England, United Kingdom (UK). He is known for his modern minimal designs.

ii. His inaugural building in the UK was the River and Rowing Museum (Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom, 1989-1997).

iii. Some of his works are Ernsting Service Centre in Coesfeld-Lette, Germany (2002); America’s Cup Building in Valencia, Spain (2007); the reconstructed Neues Museum in Berlin (2010), and the Hepworth Wakefield Art Gallery in West Yorkshire (2012).

iv. In 2012, he curated the 13th Venice Architecture Biennale, which was titled Common Ground

Awards and Recognition:

i. From 1998–2013, 7 buildings designed by David Chipperfield Architects were nominated for the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Stirling Prize.

ii. In 2004, David Chipperfield was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE). In 2010, he was knighted in the 2010 New Year Honours for services to architecture in the UK and Germany.

iii. In 2011, he received the RIBA Gold Medal for lifetime achievement and the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture, the Mies van der Rohe Award.

iv. His other awards include the Heinrich Tessenow Medal (1999), election to the Royal Academy (2008), Germany’s Order of Merit (2009), and the Japan Art Association’s Praemium Imperiale (2013).

About the Pritzker Architecture Prize:

i. The Pritzker Architecture Prize is an international architecture award presented annually to a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of talent, vision, and commitment, resulting in consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

ii. The Prize was established by the Pritzker family of Chicago, US, through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979.

  • The Prize is considered to be one of the world’s premier architecture prizes and is often referred to as the Nobel Prize of architecture.

iii. The award consists of USD 100,000 and a bronze medallion.

Recent Related News:

The Assam government has announced the list of winners of the Assam State Civilian Award 2023 which honours notable people for their admirable service to society. A total of 21 personalities were chosen for the Assam State Civilian Awards 2023.