Current Affairs PDF

Australia win ODI series after Ashes misery

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

With the pain of losing the Ashes, team Australia celebrated the consolation prize of winning the ODI (One Day International) series against England. Australia won the 5 match series on the final day by 3-2, by winning the deciding match at Old Trafford.


Final Match Summary:

On the match day, after winning the toss, England decided to bat first but was blown away in only 33 overs, with England Captain Eoin Morgan forced to retire hurt with a concussion thanks to a 90 mph (145 kph) bouncer from Mitchell Starc which hit the side of his helmet. However, later a bit of resistance came from Ben Stokes (42) and Adil Rashid (35 not out).

Later it was announced via Twitter that Morgan was being treated for a concussion and would take no further part in the game. Accordingly, James Taylor assumed the captaincy.

For the Ausies, Aaron Finch hit an unbeaten 70 off 64 balls while George Bailey was also undefeated on 41 off 45 balls and in only 24.2 overs Australia managed to get 140 for the loss of 2 wickets as against England’s 138.

Summary of the ODI series:

  • 3rd September, Southampton – Australia won by 59 runs
  • 5th September, Lord’s – Australia won by 64 runs
  • 8th September, Old Trafford – England won by 93 runs
  • 11th September, Headingley – England won by 3 wickets
  • 13th September, Old Trafford – Australia won by 8 wickets

Other Key Highlights of the Series:

  • Most Runs – 278, Eoin Morgan (England)
  • Most Wickets – 12, Pat Cummins (Australia)
  • Highest Individual Score – 101, James Taylor (England)
  • Man of the Series – Mitchell Marsh (Australia)