Current Affairs PDF

Asian Youth Chess Championships 2023: India’s Kiyana Parihar (U-8 Girls) and Harsh Suresh (U-16 open) won gold medals

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

25th Asian Youth Chess Championships 2023Indian chess players Kiyana Parihar (Under -8 Girls) and Harsh Suresh (U-16 Open) won gold medals (Standard – category) in the Asian Youth Chess Championships 2023 held at Al Ain City of Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from December 12 to 22, 2023.

i.The 25th edition of the Asian Youth Chess Championships 2023 featured three events, including Standard, Rapid, and Blitz Championships.

Indian Winners of Asian Youth Chess Championships (Standard):

i.India won 7 medals (2 gold, 3 silver, and 2 bronze) in the 2023 Asian Youth Chess Championships (standard).

ii.AS Sharvaanica (U-8 Girls), Aarit Kapil (U-8 Open), and G Tejaswini (U-18 Girls) won the silver medals in their respective matches, while Aadya Ranganath (U-10 Girls) and Kheerthi Ganta (U-16 Girls) won a bronze medal.

Medal Tally for Asian Youth Chess Championships 2023 (Standard):

The players who played under the Federation Internationale des Echecs (FIDE) flag topped the medal tally with 9 medals (4 gold, 4 silver, and 1 bronze). while India secured second place with 7 medals.

Indian winners in the Rapid Championships:

i.In the Asian Youth Rapid Chess Championships, India secured 9 medals (4 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze) and finished 1st in Medal tally.

ii.Indian gold medalists are Bhagyashree Patil (U-18 girls), Saparya Ghosh (U-14 girls), A. S. Sharvaanica (U-8 girls), and Muhammad Shayan Noushad Ibrahim (U-8 Open).

Indian winners in the Blitz Championships:

In the Asian Blitz Chess Championships, India finished 2nd with three gold medals, which were won by V.C. Nivedita (U-12 girls), Pratitee Bordoloi (U-10 girls), and A.S. Sharvaanica in their respective categories.

About the Asian Youth Chess Championships:

i.Timings for the respective Categories:

  • Standard: 90 minutes for the whole game with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from move one.
  • Rapid: 15 minutes + 10 seconds and 7 rounds.
  • Blitz: 3 minutes + 2 seconds, and 9 rounds.

ii.Organiser:  Al Ain Chess Club organised the event with the support of the Asian Chess Federation (ACF).

Gukesh Wins 2023 Chennai Grand Masters Title

Grandmaster (GM) Gukesh Dommaraju (India) won the inaugural Chennai Grand Masters 2023 title, which was held at Chennai (Tamil Nadu) from 15th to 21st December 2023.

i.Indian chess players GM Arjun Erigaisi and GM Pentala Harikrishna secured second and third positions, respectively.

ii.TheChennai Grand Masters is one of the strongest standard super tournaments in India, with a rating average of 2711.

Prize Money along with a trophy for Top 3:

1st place: Rs. 15 lakh (USD 18,000)

2nd place: Rs. 10 lakh (USD 12,000)

3rd place: Rs. 8 lakh (USD 9,600)

Organiser: 2023 Chennai Grand Masters is sponsored and supported by the Tamil Nadu Government and Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu (SDAT) and organised by MGD1, NODWIN Gaming, and ChessBase India.

Recent related News:

i.The Indian Grandmaster (GM) Vidit Santosh Gujrathi and GM Vaishali Rameshbabu won the Federation Internationale des Echecs(FIDE) Grand Swiss 2023 in the open and Women’s Grand Swiss 2023 title respectivley.

ii.Norwegian Grandmaster (GM) and World No. 1 player Magnus Carlsen won his first International Chess Federation (FIDE) World Cup title by defeating India’s GM Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa in the FIDE Chess World Cup 2023 finals.

About Asian Chess Federation (ACF):
President – Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nehyan
Headquarters – Al Ain,Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates(UAE)