Current Affairs PDF

23rd National conference on e-Governance 2020 held in Mumbai, Maharashtra; NAeG 2019-20 awards presented

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

A 2-day long 23rd edition of National Conference on e-Governance 2020 based on the theme “India 2020: Digital Transformation” with 6-sub themes was held at Mumbai, Maharashtra from February 7-8 2020.
The six sub-themes of the conference include:(i) Digital Platforms and Digital Economy (ii) Improving Service Delivery (iii) Building Digital Trust – Transparency, Security and Privacy (iv) Digital Payments and Fintech
(v) National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA)/ Digital Service Standard (DSS) (vi) Skilling and Capacity Building.Key Points:

i.The Union Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions Dr Jitendra Singh and Maharashtra IT (Information Technology) Minister Satej D Patil was the guests of honour of the conference, that aimed to discuss & exchange views relating to various e-Governance initiatives & methods of  implementing sustainable initiatives to provide end to end Digital Services in solving problems.

ii.The conference was jointly organised by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG ) along with Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), Government of India, in association with Government of Maharashtra.

A 10-point Mumbai Declaration on e-Governance adopted
During the event a 10-point Mumbai Declaration on e-Governance was unanimously adopted with the aim to carry the pathway for eGovernance outlined in the Shillong Declaration adopted during the 22nd National Conference on e-Governance (NCeG) held in August 2019.

i.Some of the main objectives of the declaration include Improving public service delivery using digital platforms, especially in health, agriculture, education and land; propagation of successful e-governance solutions using emerging technologies such as Artificial Intelligence(AI), Blockchain and Machine Learning(ML); encourage ways to improve India’s rank in United Nation’s E-Governance Development Index among others.

India FinTech Festival (IFF) 2020 to be held in Mumbai in March 2020
India FinTech Festival (IFF) 2020, India’s 1st home based global platform to promote Fintech innovation will be held in Mumbai, Maharashtra in March 2020

i.The event will be supported by Department of Financial Services, NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog, Invest India, Digital India, World Bank (WB) and UNCDF (United Nations Capital Development Fund). Medici is the program partner for the IFF 2020.

NAeG 2019-20 awards presented
The National Awards for e-Governance are also presented in the Conference to honor and promote excellence in implementation of e-Governance initiatives.

Categories: The awards are presented in 6 categories –

i.Excellence in Government Process Re-engineering for Digital Transformation. ii.Excellence in providing Citizen-Centric Delivery.

ii.Excellence in District level Initiative in e-Governance (i) North-East States + Hilly States (ii) UTs (including Delhi) (iii) Other States.

iii.Outstanding research on Citizen Centric Services by Academic/Research Institutions.

iv.Innovative Use of ICT in e-Governance solutions by Start-ups [Start up as defined by Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP) Government of India]

v.Excellence in Adopting Emerging Technologies.

Delhi, Chandigarh lead among UTs; Haryana and Rajasthan topped among state in national e-governance service delivery assessment

The Conference also assessed the national e-governance services being delivered by all the states and Union Territories. Delhi, Chandigarh and Daman and Diu emerged as the leaders in delivering e-governance services among Union Territories. Among the states, Haryana and Rajasthan emerged as leaders.


i.The National Health Authority of Ministry of Health and Family Welfare received Gold for Ayushman Bharat Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana under the category of Excellence. It enabled the government to process reengineering for Digital Transformation.

ii.The Andhra Pradesh Pollution Control Board (APPCB) has cliched a national award for e-Governance 2019-20 for the Board’s Real-Time Pollution-Monitoring System (RTPMS) project.

iii.Odisha Govt’s GO SWIFT Portal ( Department of Industries has won the National e-Governance Silver award for the year 2019-20 under the Category-1 ‘Excellence in Government Process Re-engineering for Digital Transformation’.

iv.Antyodaya Saral of Department of IT, Haryana was awarded Gold for Excellence in providing citizen-centric delivery.

v.IIT(Indian Institute of Technology) Roorkee’s (Uttarakhand) Satellite-based Agriculture Information System: An Efficient Application of ICT received the Gold Award for Outstanding Research on Citizen-Centric Services.

vi.Election Commission of India gets ‘Silver’ award for Excellence in Government Process re-engineering for digital transformation from Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG), Government of India

The full list of awardees of National e-Governance (NAeG) 2019-20 given in the below link,

About Maharashtra:
Capital– Mumbai
Governor– Bhagat Singh Koshyari
Chief minister– Uddhav Thackeray
National Parks– Chandoli National Park ,Gugamal National Park ,Nawegaon National Park ,Sanjay Gandhi (Borivilli) National Park.