Current Affairs PDF

Zimbabwe and Nepal readmitted as ICC members; Indra Nooyi reappointed as ICC Independent Director

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On October 14, 2019, The International Cricket Council (ICC) readmitted Zimbabwe and Nepal as its members in a meeting held in Dubai. Zimbabwe Cricket was suspended with immediate effect in July 2019 and Nepal was banned in 2016. Both nations had been suspended for governmental interference.Zimbabwe and Nepal readmitted as members of ICC

Key Points:
i. Zimbabwe is eligible to participate in the ICC Men’s Under 19 Cricket World Cup in January 2020 and the ICC Super League in 2020.
ii. The main members present in the 4 day ICC Board meeting were ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar, ICC Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Manu Sawhney, Zimbabwe Cricket Chairman Tavengwa Mukuhlani and Zimbabwe Sports Minister Kirsty Coventry and Gerald Mlotshwa, the Chairman of the Sports and Recreation Commission.

Other decisions:
i. Women’s Cricket: The prize money for ICC women’s events was increased by $2.6 million. From 2020, for the event in Australia, winners and runners will get $1 million and $500,000 respectively. For the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 (12th edition- New Zealand), it was hiked to $3.5m from $2m.
ii. ICC Global Events 2023-2031: 8-year cycle commencing in 2023 will include 8 Men’s events, 8 Women’s events, 4 Men’s U19 events, and 4 Women’s U19 events.
iii. Challenge League A and B: Malaysia will host the ICC Challenge League A from 14-27 March 2020. Uganda will host ICC Challenge League B from 27 July – 9 August 2020.
iv. Super Over: The Chief Executives’ Committee agreed to retain the use of the Super Over as a way to decide results at ICC events. It was recommended by the ICC Cricket Committee.
v. Fund to Associate members: A $30.5 million funding allocation for Associate Members for 2020 was approved (12% increase on 2019 funds).
vi. Governance Working Group: The Board approved the establishment of a Governance Working Group to consider future governance structure of the ICC chaired by Earl Eddings from Cricket Australia. It has 5 more members.
vii. Independent Director: India’s Indra Nooyi was unanimously reappointed as the ICC Independent Director for a second two-year term from 2020-2022.

About ICC:
Motto: Cricket for good
Headquarters:  Dubai, United Arab Emirates