Current Affairs PDF

Winners of 22nd Laureus World Sports Awards – 2021

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

2021 Laureus World Sports AwardsThe 22nd Laureus World Sports Awards 2021 were unveiled at a Digital Awards Ceremony from Sevilla, Spain. Spanish Tennis Player Rafael Nadal won the Sportsman of the year title, while Japanese Tennis player Naomi Osaka won the Sportswomen of the year title.Rafael Nadal named Sportsman of the Year, Naomi Osaka takes home Sportswoman title

  • This is Nadal’s 4th Laureus Title (2014, 2011, 2006), and the 2nd Laureus Title for Naomi Osaka (previous one coming in 2019).
  • The Laureus World Sports Awards are awarded annually by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation.
  • First held in 2000, the awards honour the greatest and inspirational sporting triumphs of the year.
  • The awards are given across 6 Categories. Apart from the 6 categories, awards are also given for Lifetime Achievement, Athlete Advocate of the year, Sporting Inspiration & Sporting Moment of the Year award.
  • The Laureus World Sports Academy (a unique group of sporting legends) votes for the winners in each shortlisted category.

Complete List of Winners

1Laureus World Sportsman of the Year                   Rafael Nadal

  Country – Spain, Sports – Tennis

2Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year                   Naomi Osaka

  Country – Japan, Sports – Tennis

3Laureus World Team of the Year                Bayern Munich

German Football Club

4Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year             Patrick Mahomes

Country – US, Sports – American Football

5Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award               Max Parrot

Country – Canada,  Sport – Snowboarding

6Laureus Sport for Good Award    ‘KICKFORMORE’  by Kickfair

Country-Germany; Sport-Football

7Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award               Billie Jean King

   Country – US, Sport – Tennis

8Laureus Athlete Advocate of the Year Award

(Inaugural Award)

              Lewis Hamilton

Country – UK, Sport – Formula One

9Laureus Sporting Inspiration Award             Mohamed Salah

Egyptian Football player, Club –  Liverpool

10Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year Award   Chris Nikic – American Triathlete

In 2020, he became the 1st person with Down Syndrome to finish an Ironman triathlon

Laureus World Sports Awards WinnersHighlights

  • It was Bayern Munich’s 2nd Laureus Team of the Year award, the first one came in 2014.
  • Nadal’s first win in the Sportsman of the year category came in 2011, he won the Breakthrough of the Year award in 2006 and the Comeback of the Year award in 2014.
  • Lewis Hamilton won the Laureus Athlete Advocate of the Year award for his support for racial justice.
  • The Sportsman of the year 2020 was won by Lewis Hamilton & Argentine Footballer Lionel Messi, the Sportswomen of the year 2020 was won by Simone Arianne Biles (American Gymnast)
  • Former Indian International Cricketer Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar’s 2011 World Cup-winning moment was voted the Laureus Sporting Moment of 2000-2020

Recent Related News:

i.On August 21, 2020, National Sports Awards 2020 were announced by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

About Laureus Sport for Good Foundation:

Chairman of Trustees – Edwin Moses
It is a Charitable Company based in London, UK