Current Affairs PDF Sales

Winners of 2015 French Open title of Tennis

The 114th  edition of the French Open event took place at the Stade Roland Garros from 24 May to 7 June.  It is the second Grand Slam event of the year.

Men’s Singles

  • Stanislas Wawrinka of Switzerland defeated Novak Djokovic of Serbia ( 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4 ), his fourth win in 21 meetings against the Serb.
  • It is his first French Open title and second grand slam title after Australian Open 2014.
  • He is the only the second Swiss to win French Open men’s single title after Roger Federer.
  • Wawrinka became the oldest champion in Paris since Andres Gomez in 1990.

Women’s Singles

  • Serena Williams of United States defeated Lucie Safarova of Czechoslovakia (6-3 6-7 (2) 6-2 )
  • This was her third French Open title (earlier wins in 2002, 2013) and overall 20th Grand Slam title.

Men’s Doubles Title

  • The pair of Ivan Dodig  of Croatia  and Marcelo Melo  of Brazil defeated Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan  of  US (6–7(5–7), 7–6(7–5), 7–5 ).

Women’s Doubles Title

  • The pair of Bethanie Mattek-Sands of US and Lucie Šafářová of Czech Republic defeated Casey Dellacqua of Australia and Yaroslava Shvedova of Kazakhstan (3–6, 6–4, 6–2 ).
  • For Mattek-Sands it’s her 16th career doubles crown and third with Safarova.

Mixed Double’s Title

  • Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Mike Bryan pair from United States defeated Lucie Hradecká Czech Republic and Marcin Matkowski of Poland (7–6(7–3), 6–1 ).
  • Bryan won his fourth grand slam mixed doubles title; he won the other three with American Lisa Raymond (2002 US Open, 2003 Roland Garros, and 2012 Wimbledon).