Current Affairs PDF

West Bengal to Get Seven New Districts, Total Number of Districts Rises to 30

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

West Bengal Gets 7 New Districts, Total Number Reaches 30On 1st August 2022, West Bengal (WB) government under Chief Minister(CM) Mamata Banerjee decided to carve out seven new districts from the existing 23 districts by redrawing their boundaries for better administration and development.

  • The seven new districts include  Sunderban, Ichhemati, Ranaghat, Bishnupur, Jangipur, Behrampur and one more district will be named from Basirhat region.


i.At present, there are 23 districts in WB and after this addition, the total number of districts has been increased to 30.

  • Present 23 districts are Alipurduar, Bankura, Birbhum, Cooch Behar, Dakshin Dinajpur (South Dinajpur), Darjeeling, Hooghly, Howrah, Jalpaiguri, Jhargram, Kalimpong, Kolkata, Malda, Murshidabad, Nadia, North 24 Parganas, Paschim Medinipur (West Medinipur), Paschim (West) Burdwan (Bardhaman), Purba Burdwan (Bardhaman), Purba Medinipur (East Medinipur), Purulia, South 24 Parganas, Uttar Dinajpur (North Dinajpur).

ii.Among the seven districts, Ranaghat is separated from Nadia, Jangipur & Behrampur are separated from Murshidabad district and Bishnupuris divided from Bankura.

  • Sundarban comes under South 24 Parganas, Icchemati and Basirhat comes under North 24 Parganas.

iii.CM announced a cabinet reshuffle with the inclusion of five new council of ministers under departments including Panchayat, Public Health, Engineering, Consumer Affairs & Self Help Group.

Recent related news:

2-day 6th edition of Bengal Global Business Summit – 2022 (BGBS) held in Biswa Bangla Convention Centre, New Town, Kolkata, West Bengal (WB) on April 20-21, 2022. During the summit West Bengal received investment proposals of Rs. 3.42 Lakh crore & WB state has signed a total of 137 Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and Letter of Intent (LoI).

About West Bengal:

Governor – La Ganesan
Airport – Air Force Station Arjan Singh, Kalaikunda Air Force Station, Hasimara Air Force Station
Bird Sanctuary – Chintamoni Kar Bird Sanctuary, Pakhi Bitan Bird Sanctuary, Raiganj Birds Sanctuary