Current Affairs PDF

Wawrinka won Dubai ATP Tennis Title 2016

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Dubai ATP Tennis Title 2016

  • Swiss tennis great Stan Wawrinka ranked no 4 defeated Marcos Baghdatis of Cypriot to claim Dubai ATP title of 2016, this is Second title after having won in Chennai this January 2016.
  • Wawrinka battled past a spirited Marcos to clinch this championship, Beating the Cypriot 6-4 7-6 (13) in one hour 54 minutes for his 13th.Wawrinka won Dubai ATP Tennis title 2016
  • Marcos has now lost all six times he has face Swiss great, However Wawrinka who hasn’t lost a final since 2013.
  • By winning this title, Wawrinka becomes only the fifth active player to win nine of more finals consecutively, joining the likes of Roger Federer ( 24, also 13 and 10) , Rafeal Nadal( 14, also 9 twice) Novak Djokovic (9)and Tommy Haas(9).
  • Wawrinka earned 500 Emirates ATP Ranking points and prize money of $ 511, 750 and possess 13-2 match record this year.

Women’s Singles:

Sara Errani from Italy won 2016 Dubai ATP Tennis Title, she defeated Barbora Strycova of Czech Republic.

Men’s Doubles:

            Simone Bolelli and Andrea’s seppi from Italy defeated Feliciano Lopez and Marc Lopez pair from Spain to Clinch the Title.

Women’s Doubles:

Chuang Chia – Jung from Chinese Taipei and Darija Jurak from Croatia defeated French pair of Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic.

Dubai Tennis Championship:

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championship formally known as Barclays Dubai Tennis Championships.

  • The tournament held annually in Dubai United Arab Emirates on Outdoor hard courts, the tournament take place in February.
  • The Tennis Championship started at the Aviation Club in 1993 available in Men’s and Women’s category in Singles and Doubles format.