Current Affairs PDF

Bank of Ghana (BoG) won Central Bank of the Year Award 2020 in 7th Annual Central Banking Awards 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Central Banking Awards 2020On 13th October 2020 the Central Banking organised a virtual award ceremony to honour the winner of the Annual Central Banking Awards 2020. The 2020 awards mark the 7th edition of the Annual Central Banking Awards. The award recognises the excellence in the central banking community.

About Central Banking Awards:

i.The annual Central Banking Award was first launched in 2014.

ii.The trophies of the central banking awards were made of sustainable material and were presented at the virtual award ceremony.

iii.The awards were formally presented to the governors and business-line head of the central banks and market practitioners.

Winners of Central Banking Awards 2020:

i.The Bank of Ghana (BoG) received the Central Bank of the Year Award 2020 and Ernest Addison, the governor of BoG received the award on behalf of the bank.

ii.Otmar Issing, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Christopher Jeffery, editor-in-chief and chairman of the Central Banking Awards Committee presented the award to Otmar Issing.

iii.Mark Carney, governor of the Bank of England won the Governor of the Year Award 2020. The award recognises the all-round achievements in the job.

Click here to know about the other winners


Raghuram Rajan, former governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) received the Governor of the Year in the Central Banking Awards 2015.

Recent Related News:

State Bank of India (SBI) to receive Brandon Human Capital Management(HCM) Excellence Award(also known as the Academy Awards of Learning & Development)2020, a global recognition for its HR initiative, ”Nayi Disha”. The award winners will be honored at Brandon Hall Group’s annual HCM Excellence Conference, January 26-28, 2021 at the Hilton West Palm Beach, Florida.

About Ghana:
President- Nana Akufo-Addo
Currency- Ghanaian cedi