Current Affairs PDF

‘Village Volunteers System’ launched by AP CM Jaganmohan Reddy on independence day

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister (CM) and YSR(Yuvajana Sramika Rythu) Congress party leader, Jaganmohan Reddy on his maiden Independence Day speech on August 15,2019 at IGMS (Indira Gandhi (municipal) Stadium) ground in Vijayawada, announced a new flagship programme ‘Village Volunteer System’ to provide doorstep governance to people involving 2.8Lakh volunteers. The scheme would be launched on the Birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi on October 2. The outlay is roughly Rs 1,200 crore per annum on the scheme.‘Village Volunteers System’ launched by AP CM

Key points
i. Various schemes and legislations introduced during the two and a half months of governance of the CM were listed out.
ii. Launch of Village secretariats on October 2, 2019, was announced to make the volunteers act as a bridge between the Government and the people. The secretariats will deliver doorstep services within 72 hours.
iii. Each volunteer will be allotted with identity cards and will be cover 50 families in each village. They will be given Rs.5000 per month as honorarium and will become leaders after they complete their term as volunteers. The volunteers will be in the age group of 18 to 35 and the minimum qualification is SSC in tribal areas and Intermediate in other areas.
iv. Toll-Free no.1902 will be set up in the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) to address people’s grievances.
v. ‘YSR Rythu Bharosa’–  scheme to provide free electricity will be launched on October 15, and each farmer will receive Rs.12500 per year for the next four years.
vi. Amma Vodi: ‘Amma Vodi’ scheme will be launched on January 26, 2020, which would give yearly Rs.15000 to all mothers for the education of their children.

About IGMC stadium
The stadium situated in Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh, was previously called as Indira Gandhi Municipal Corporation Stadium. It also has names like ‘municipal Stadium’(also previous name) or simply Indira Gandhi Stadium.