Current Affairs PDF

Vijai Sharma is the new Chief Information Commissioner

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Vijai Sharma, a 1974 batch IAS officer has been appointed as the new Chief Information Officer.
He has been serving as Information Commissioner in the commission since 2012.

What is CIC?

The Chief Information Commission was established under the RTI Act in 2005.
It is the authorised body under the Government of India which receives complaints from any person –

  1. who has not been able to submit an information request because a PIO(Public Information Officer) has not been appointed
  2. who has been refused information that was requested
  3. who has received no response to his/her information request within the specified time limits
  4. who thinks the fees charged are unreasonable
  5. who thinks information given is incomplete or false or misleading and
  6. any other matter relating to obtaining information under this law.

Structure of CIC

The Commission consists of 1 Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) and not more than 10 Information Commissioners (IC) who will be appointed by the President of India.

Powers of CIC
CIC has powers of civil courts like:

  1. a) Summoning and enforcing attendance of persons, compelling them to give oral or written evidence on oath and to produce documents or things;
  2. b) Requiring the discovery and inspection of documents;
  3. c) Receiving evidence on affidavit;
  4. d) Requisitioning public records or copies from any court or office
  5. e) Issuing summons for examination of witnesses or documents
  6. f) Any other matter which may be prescribed.