Current Affairs PDF

V P Singh Badnore & Dharmendra Pradhan inaugurates Battery Swapping Facility Quick Interchange Service virtually

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Punjab-Governor-along-with-Petroleum-Minister-inaugurated-Battery-Swapping-Facility,-QISOn June 26, 2020 Punjab Governor and Administrator of Chandigarh, V P Singh Badnore with Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas & Steel, Dharmendra Pradhan inaugurated Battery Swapping Facility Quick Interchange Service(QIS) at Chandigarh in a virtual function.

Gist about Battery swapping technology

i.The battery swapping technology provides the best alternative  to slow charging and enables drivers to optimize the use of the operational hours. 

ii.The model was initiated to target the commercial segment like electric autos, rickshaws, electric 2W and  the electric vehicle, which is factory fitted or retrofitted.

Agreement between IOCL and Sun Mobility Pvt Ltd

Indian Oil Corporation Limited(IOCL) has signed an agreement with Sun Mobility Private Limited to install lithium-ion battery swapping stations for electric vehicles in fuel stations across IndianOilRetail outlets in selected cities. The 1st such battery swapping station was installed at one of IOC’s fuel stations in Chandigarh.

  • IOCL aims to run a Pilot and offer SMPLs (Smart Mobility Proprietary Solutions) to support and service vehicles like e-rickshaws, e-karts and e-bikes, and e-auto rickshaws up to 20 to 25 quick interchange stations in selected cities in India.
  • Sun Mobility plans to install 20 QIS across major towns, which cover New Delhi, Gurugram, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Amritsar among others.

Key info

i.The Pilot ROs QIS has 14 Batteries, with a touch screen to swap preloaded cards and an electricity sub meter. 

ii.The QIS will play a significant role as it provides an  alternative energy solution to the 3-wheeler segment & helps to boost India’s economic growth.

iii.This  initiative could bring a reform in the energy sector which moves towards carbon neutral culture.

Key People– TarunKapoor, Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas; Sanjiv Singh, Chairman, IndianOil; Officers of Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, the Union Territory of Chandigarh, and Indian Oil Corporation Limited(IOCL) among others were present during the inauguration.

Note– India has developed sustainable models of renewable energy & has taken many initiatives, including introduction of BS-VI fuels.

About IOCL:
Headquarters– New Delhi, India
Chairman– Sanjiv Singh

About Sun Mobility Private Limited
Headquarters– Bengaluru, Karnataka
Co-Founder & Vice Chairman Chetan Maini