Current Affairs PDF

UP, Delhi, Karnataka leads in Total Registered EVs in India

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

UP, Delhi, Karnataka leading states in EV sales (1)During the Winter Session of the Parliament, Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Road Transport & Highways, informed the Rajya Sabha on the state of Electric Vehicles (EV) in India. As per the data release, India has a total of 870,141 registered EVs, with Uttar Pradesh (UP) holding the top spot with 255,700 registered EVs. 

  • UP is followed by Delhi (125,347), Karnataka (72,544), Bihar (58,014) and Maharashtra (52,506) in successive positions.

GST on EVs:

The Central Government of India has reduced the Goods & Service Tax (GST) on Electric Vehicles & related products.

  • GST on EVs – 5% (previously 12%)
  • GST on EV Chargers & Charging Stations – 5% (previously 18%)

FAME India Scheme:

Faster Adoption and Manufacturing of (Hybrid &) Electric Vehicles in India (FAME India) Scheme was launched in 2015 to promote the adoption of EVs & Hybrid vehicles in India.

Implementing Agency – Department of Heavy Industry, under the Ministry of Heavy Industries

  • Phase I – 1st April 2015 to 31st March 2019
  • Phase II – 1st April 2019 to 31st March 2024

The Union Cabinet has approved a total budget of ₹10,000 crores for a period of 5-years, for implementing the Phase-II of FAME India Scheme.

FASTag Facility:

Nitin Gadkari also detailed the FASTag facilities available on Toll Plazas, for automatic collection of Toll fees.

i.With 4.21 crore users, FASTags is now responsible for around 97% of the total user toll fees paid in National Highways.

ii.Currently, there are 35 banks responsible for issuing FASTags, while 14 banks as acquirers for processing transactions at toll plazas.

Recent Related News:

As per the findings of ‘Global EV Outlook 2021’ report released by the International Energy Agency (IEA), by 2030, India will have more than 30% Electric Vehicles (EVs) in the overall new vehicle sales.

About Ministry of Road Transport & Highways (MoRTH): 

Union Minister – Nitin Jairam Gadkari (Constituency – Nagpur, Maharashtra)
Minister of State – Vijay Kumar Singh (Constituency – Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh)