Current Affairs PDF

Union MoS Dr L. Murugan presented the 8th National Photography Awards in Delhi

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union MoS Dr L. Murugan confersOn 7th March 2023, Dr L. Murugan, Union Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting (I&B), presented the 8th National Photography awards in New Delhi, Delhi. In total, 13 individuals were recognised in different categories.

  • National Photography Awards are organised by Photo Division under the Ministry of I&B to promote the art and technique of photography.


The 7th National Photography Awards ceremony was held on February 19th, 2019.

Category Themes:

  • The theme for the Professional category was “Life and Water”.
  • The theme for the Amateur category was “Culture Heritage of India”.

Members of the Jury for the 8th National Photography Awards:

i. Vijay Kranti, an Indian journalist and Tibetologist, is the Chairman of the Jury for the awards.

ii. Jagdish Yadav, Ajay Aggarwal, K. Madhavan Pillai, and Ashima Narain are the members of the Jury.

iii. Sanjiv Misra, the Photographic Officer of the Photo Division, is the Member Secretary.

Winners of the 8th National Photography Awards in Table:

S.NoCategoryAwardeeCash Prize
1Lifetime Achievement AwardSipra DasRs 3 lakh
2Professional Photographer of the Year AwardSasi Kumar Ramachandran


Rs.1 lakh
3Special Mention Awards in the Professional categoryDipjyoti BanikRs.50,000
Manish Kumar Chauhan
R S Gopakumar
Sudipto Das
Umesh Harishchandra Nikam
4Amateur Photographer of the Year AwardArun SahaRs 75,000
5Special Mention Awards in the Amateur categoryC S SreeranjRs.30,000
Mohit Wadhawan
Ravishankar S L
Subhadip Bose
Tharun Adurugatla

Key Points:

i. For the Professional category, 462 entries with a total of 4,535 images were received from 21 States and 4 Union Territories (UTs) of India and In the Amateur category, 874 entries with 6,838 images were received from 24 States and 6 UTs.

ii. On the occasion, a special brochure was also released by the dignitaries of the award ceremony.

iii. Apurva Chandra, Secretary of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MoI&B) announced that the National Photography Awards are an initiative to recognise the immense efforts made by Indian photographers.

  • She also proposed that government flagship programmes be included as a category of awards in the near future.

About the National Photography Awards:

i. The Photo Division confers the National Photography Awards annually to promote various facets of India such as art, culture, development, heritage, history, life, people, society, and tradition through photography.

ii. The award is conferred also to encourage professionals and amateur photographers across India.

iii. The inaugural National Photography awards were presented on 19th August 2010.

Recent Related News:

The President of India, Droupadi Murmu, presented the Digital India Awards 2022, the 7th edition of the Digital India Awards (DIA), in New Delhi, Delhi, on January 7, 2023.

About the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MoI&B):

Union Minister- Anurag Singh Thakur (Constituency- Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh)
Minister of State (MoS)- L. Murugan (Rajya Sabha – Madhya Pradesh)