Current Affairs PDF

Union Minister Jitendra Singh Addresses 1st Ever Ministerial Meeting of G-20 Anti-Corruption Working Group

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union Minister DrOn October 22, 2020, Union Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Jitendra Singh addressed the 1st Ever Ministerial Meeting of G-20 Anti-Corruption Working Group virtually.

i.During the Meeting, The Union Minister stated that India has committed to the policy of Zero Tolerance against Corruption and Unaccounted money.

ii.The G20 Ministerial Meeting was organized on its 10th Anniversary Year

Key Points:

The Minister also highlighted the initiatives of India to counter Corruption:

Prevention of Corruption (Amendment)Act, 2018:

i.India’s Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 was amended after 30 years in 2018. 

ii.The amended act criminalizes the act of giving bribes in addition to taking bribes. 

iii.It aims to check corruption in big places and aims to strike hard against corporate bribery. 

Fugitive Economic Offenders Act, 2018:

i.He also stated the challenge of Fugitive Economic Offenders and Assets who flee national jurisdiction

ii.India’s Fugitive Economic Offenders Act, 2018 empowers authorities for non-conviction based attachments and confiscation of proceeds of crime and properties and assets of a Fugitive Economic Offender.

Other Initiatives:

i.The Government of India is aiming to bring transparency, citizen centricity and more accountability in governance. 

ii.The union minister highlighted the initiative to operationalize Lokpal to check corruption at high places.

Recent Related News:

i.On September 22, 2020, the virtual G-20 (Group of Twenty) Trade and Investment Ministers under the Saudi Arabia Presidency was held where India was represented by Union Commerce and Industry & Railways Minister, Piyush Goyal. 

About G-20 or Group of Twenty:

Composition– 19 countries and the European Union (EU)

The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the UK, and the United States (US).

2020 Presidency– Saudi Arabia
2020 theme– Realizing Opportunities of the 21st Century For All
Chairman– Saudi Arabian King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud (2020)