Current Affairs PDF

Union Cabinet Reshuffle: Arjun Ram Meghwal Replaces Kiren Rijiju as Law Minister; Kiren Rijiju Assigned to Earth Science Ministry

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union cabinet reshuffle Arjun Ram Meghwal appointed law minister, Kiren Rijiju assigned ministry of earth ScienceIn accordance with the statement issued by the Rashtrapati Bhavan regarding the Union Cabinet Reshuffle, Arjun Ram Meghwal, has replaced Kiren Rijiju with the independent charge as Minister of State in the Ministry of Law and Justice in addition to his existing portfolios.

Kiren Rijiju was assigned with the portfolio of the Ministry of Earth Sciences which was earlier handled by Union minister Jitendra Singh.

  • The reallocated the portfolios of following two ministers in the Union Council of Ministers were made by President Droupadi Murmu, as advised by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

About Kiren Rijiju: 

i.Kiren Rijiju is an Indian politician from Arunachal Pradesh and a member of the Lok Sabha representing Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency since 2014.

ii.He served as the Minister of State for Home Affairs from 2014 to 2019 and the Minister of State for Minority Affairs from 2019 to 2021 and the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports from 2019 to 2021.

iii.He took over as the Minister of Law and Justice on 8 July 2021.

About Arjun Ram Meghwal:

i.The existing portfolios of Meghwal are the Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and the Minister of State for Culture.

ii.He is a member of Lok Sabha since 2009 representing the Bikaner constituency, Rajasthan.

iii.He served as Minister of State for Finance and Corporate Affairs and the Minister of State for Water Resources from 2016 to 2017.

iv.He also served as Chief Whip, Minister of State for Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises from 2019 to 2021.

v.He was awarded the Best Parliamentarian in 2013.

Note – Union Cabinet Ministers are appointed by the President on the recommendations of the Prime Minister.