Current Affairs PDF

UIDAI shifted to IT Ministry from NITI Aayog

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), which issues Aadhaar cards, has been shifted to the administrative control of the ministry of communication and information technology from NITI Aayog.

(Aadhaar is a 12-digit individual identification number issued by UIDAI)

(Ministry of Communications & Information Technology and Law & Justice – Mr. Ravi Shankar Prasad)

  • The decision to shift UIDAI from NITI Aayog has been taken, keeping in mind the government’s ambitious “Digital India” programme as the Aadhaar numbers are being linked with several services.

(NITI Aayog has replaced the Planning Commission)

(NITI Aayog is headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi as its chairperson)

The issuance of Aadhaar cards, started by the then United Progressive Alliance government, has come under the scrutiny of the Supreme Court, which recently held that the card would not be mandatory for availing benefits of government’s welfare schemes.


The cabinet secretariat has amended Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961, and put it under the department of electronics and information technology (DeITy), ministry of communication and information technology.


  • National Institution for Transforming India
  • 1950: Planning commission was established
  • May 29, 2014: The first IEO (Independent Evaluation Office) assessment report was submitted to Prime Minister Modi on May 29, three days after he was sworn in.
  • August 13, 2014: Cabinet of Modi govt. scrapped the Planning Commission
  • 15 2014: Modi mentioned to replace Planning Commission by National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) on the line of China
  • 1 January 2015: Formed
  • February 8, 2015: The first meeting of NITI Aayog was chaired by Narendra Modi.