Current Affairs PDF

Syed Modi International Badminton Championship 2022: India’s PV Sindhu, Ishaan Bhatnagar & Tanisha Crasto Wins Title

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Sindhu wins Syed Modi International badminton titleBadminton World Federation (BWF) organised Syed Modi International Badminton Championship 2022 at the Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh (UP) with the prize money of USD 150,000 from 18th – 23rd January 2022.


Women’s Singles:

The two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu won the women’s singles final of the Syed Modi Badminton Championship 2022 against Malvika Bansod (India).

  • PV Sindhu became 2nd Indian after Sushil Kumar and 1st Indian woman to win 2 Olympic medals

 Men’s Singles:

The men’s singles final which was to take place on 23rd January 2022 between Arnaud Merkle (France) and Lucas Claerbout (France) was declared as a ‘no match’ after one of the finalists tested positive for COVID-19.

Women’s doubles

Anna Ching Yik Cheong and Teoh Mei Xing (Malaysia) emerged as the champions after defeating Treesa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand of India in the women’s doubles final of the Syed Modi International tournament.

  • This was their first higher-level tournament in the World Tour tournament. They have won the Czech Open title in 2021.

Men’s Doubles:

Man Wei Chong (Malaysia) & Kai Wun Tee (Malaysia) has won the Men’s Doubles championship against Krishna Prasad Garaga (India) & Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala (India)

Mixed Doubles:

The mixed doubles title was won by the Indian duo of Ishaan Bhatnagar and Tanisha Crasto against Hema Nagendra Babu (India) and Srivedya Gurazada (India).

Overview of 2022 Syed Modi International Winners:

Men’s  SinglesNo Match
Women’s SinglesPV Sindhu (India)
Men’s DoublesMan Wei Chong (Malaysia) & Kai Wun Tee (Malaysia)
Women’s DoublesAnna Ching Yik Cheong (Malaysia) and Teoh Mei Xing (Malaysia)
Mixed DoublesIshaan Bhatnagar (India) and Tanisha Crasto (India)

About Syed Modi International Badminton Championships:

i.The Syed Modi International Badminton Championships is held annually by the HSBC BWF World Tour super 300 tournament in India.

  • In 2009, it was a BWF Grand Prix event and was temporarily shifted to Hyderabad in 2010.
  • Later, In 2011, it was upgraded to the BWF Grand Prix Gold tournament.

ii.Uttar Pradesh Badminton Association (UPBA) started the championship in 1991 and was named in the memory of the 1982 Commonwealth Games Men’s singles champion Syed Modi.

Note – In 2020 and 2021 BWF has cancelled the Championship due to COVID-19 pandemic.

About Badminton World Federation (BWF):

BWF is registered under the International Organisations (Privileges and Immunities) Act 1992 in Malaysia.
Establishment – 1934 (London)
Headquarters – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
President – Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen