Current Affairs PDF

Summer Youth Olympic Games 2018 held in Buenos Aires, Argentina

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

From 6th to 18th October 2018, Summer Youth Olympic Games 2018 was held in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Summer Youth Olympic Games 2018

  • Manu Bhaker led the Indian team as the flag-bearer of the Indian contingent in the opening ceremony. Jeremy Lalrinnunga was India’s flag bearer at the closing ceremony.
  • 4,000 athletes, from 206 teams, aged 15-18 participated. Indian contingent consisted of 68 members, including 46 athletes. This is India’s largest ever contingent at the Youth Olympics.
  • Russian Federation topped the medal tally with 59 medals: 29 gold, 18 silver and 12 bronze medals. Japan secured 2nd position with 39 medals: 15 gold, 12 silver, 12 bronze.
  • India obtained 17th position with 13 Medals: 3 gold, 9 silver and 1 bronze.

Indian winners:

Gold medal winners:

Sl. No. Event Winner Highlights
1 10m Air Pistol Men’s Shooting Saurabh Chaudhary
2 Men’s 62kg Weightlifting Jeremy Lalrinnunga India’s first ever Youth Olympics Gold medal
3 10m Air Pistol Women Shooting Manu Bhaker Manu Bhaker has become the 1stIndian shooter to win gold in Youth Olympic Games

Silver medal winners:

Sl. No. Event Winners Highlights
1 Archery – Men’s Recurve Individual Akash Malik India’s first silver-medallist in archery at the Youth Olympic Games
2 Hockey5s Men’s team event Indian Men’s Hockey team won silver medals in their debut
3 Hockey5s Women’s team event Indian Women’s Hockey team won silver medals in their debut
4 Badminton Men’s Singles Lakshya Sen
5 10m Air Rifle Women’s Shooting Mehuli Ghosh
6 10m Air Rifle Men’s Shooting Shahu Tushar Mane
7 Women’s Freestyle 43kg Wrestling Simran Simran
8 Athletics – Men’s 5000m Race Walk Suraj Panwar
9 Women’s 44 kg Judo Tababi Devi Thangjam India’s first judo medallist at the Olympic level

India men’s national field hockey team consisted of:

  • Prashant Chauhan, Sudeep Chirmako, Shivam Anand, Pawan, Rahul Rajbhar, Sanjay, Maninder Singh, Vivek Prasad, Rabichandra Moirangathem.

India women’s national field hockey team consisted of:

  • Bichu Devi Kharibam, Baljeet Kaur, Ishika Chaudhary, Chetna, Khushboo, Reet, Salima Tete, Lalremsiami, Mumtaz Khan.

Bronze medal winners:

Sl. No. Event Winner
1 Athletics – Men’s Triple Jump Praveen Chithravel

Additional Information:

  • Lakshya Sen also won gold medal as part of the winning team (‘Team Alpha’) in the mixed team event (badminton).
  • Tababi Devi Thangjam also won a silver medal in the mixed team event under mixed-NOC.
  • Manu Bhaker & Bezhan Fayzullaev won silver Medal in the Mixed 10 metre air pistol.
  • Saurabh Chaudhary donated the pistol with which he won gold medal to be a part of Olympic Museum in Switzerland.
  • Thangjam Tababi Devi donated her competition attire to the International Olympic Committee to be a part of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.