Current Affairs PDF

Sportstar Aces 2024: Neeraj Chopra and Sheetal Devi win Sportstar of the Year

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Sportstar ACES 2024Indian Olympian Neeraj Chopra was awarded the Sportstar of the Year (Male) award at the 2024 Sportstar Aces Awards held at the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

  • The 2024 Arjuna Awardee Sheetal Devi (para-archer) won the Sportstar Aces Award for the Sportstar of the Year (female).She also won the moment of the year award.

Winners of Sportstar ACES 2024:

Sportsman of the Year (Track and Field)Men’s Relay Team (4*400m)
(Muhammad Anas, Amoj Jacob, Muhammed Ajmal, and Rajesh Ramesh)
Sportswoman of the Year (Track and Field)Parul Chaudhary(Athletics)
Sportsman of the Year (Team Sports)Hardik Singh(Hockey),
Mohammed Shami(Cricket)
Sportswoman of the Year (Team Sports)Vandana Katariya(Hockey)
Sportsman of the Year (Individual)Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty(Badminton)
Sportswoman of the Year (Individual)Rameshbabu Vaishali(Chess), Sift Kaur Samra(Shooting)
Sportsman of the Year (Parasports)Sumit Antil(javelin)
Sportswoman of the Year (Parasports)Thulasimathi Murugesan(Badminton)
Coach of the YearRahul Dravid(Cricket)
Young Achiever of the Year (Male)Prathamesh Samadhan Jawkar(Archery)
Young Achiever of the Year (Female)Tilottama Sen(Shooting)
Lifetime Achievement AwardChandu Borde(Cricket),
Karnam Malleswari(Weightlifting)
Sportstar of the Year (Male)Neeraj Chopra(Javelin)
Sportstar of the Year (Female)Sheetal Devi(Archery)
National Team of the YearIndia Men’s Cricket Team
Club/State Team of the YearSaurashtra Cricket Team
Moment of the YearSheetal Devi Hits the Bullseye
International IconMuttiah Muralitharan(Sri Lanka Men’sCricket)
Best State for the Promotion of SportTamil Nadu
Best Public Sector Undertakings (PSU) for the Promotion of SportNTPC Ltd
(National Thermal Power Corporation)
Best Corporate for the Promotion of SportTata Steel Ltd
Best University for the Promotion of SportSRM Institute of Science and Technology
Sport for Social GoodShri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board
Ace of Aces AwardRohan Bopanna(Tennis)

Key Points:

i.Tilottama Sen won the Young Achiever of the Year (Female) award for her best performance in 2023, which made her secure up to fifth rank in the 10m Air Rifle Women (ARW) Senior International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) rankings.

  • She also secured a place to participate in the 2024 Paris Olympics after winning the silver medal in the 10m air rifle event at the Asian Championships 2023 held in South Korea.

ii.Prathamesh Jawkar won the Young Achiever of the Year (Male) for recognising his performance in 2023, which included his gold medal in the men’s individual event (compound) at the Archery World Cup in Shanghai (China) by defeating world No. 1 Mike Schloesser (Netherlands).

iii.The 2024 Australian Open men’s doubles champion and 2024 Padma Shri awardee Rohan Bopanna was awarded the ‘Ace of Aces award’.

  • Rohan Bopanna also became the oldest world No. 1 in the Pepperstone Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) men’s doubles at 43 years and 331 days Rankings as per the list released by ATP on 29th January 2024.

About Sportstar Aces:

i.The 6th edition of the Sportstar Aces awards were given in 24 categories which includes 5 Popular Choice and 16 Jury Awards.

ii.The two special awards, namely ‘International Icon’ and ‘Ace of Aces’, were also awarded.