Current Affairs PDF

Saudi Arabia Awards Water Prize to Eight Scientists at UN Headquarters

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Saudi Arabia has awarded eight scientists the Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water at the United Nations headquarters in New York .

About the Prize,

The Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) is a scientific prize with a focus on innovation.

  • Established in 2002 by HRH Crown Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz, it rewards the efforts made by scientists, inventors and research organizations around the world which contribute to the sustainable availability of potable water and the alleviation of the escalating global problem of waterInternational Prize for Water
  • To this end, PSIPW awards a suite of five biennial prizes, covering the entire water research landscape. In this way, PSIPW encourages research to find solutions to the various water-related challenges facing the world today.
  • On 21 October 2002, His Royal Highness Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz – Crown Prince, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Defense and Aviation and Inspector General – announced in Riyadh that nominations were being accepted for a new global Prize to be awarded biannually: the “Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water”.
  • The Prize Council, headed by His Royal Highness Prince Khalid Bin Sultan Bin Abdulaziz, includes leading scholars from around the world. The General Secretariat of the Prize is headquartered in the Prince Sultan Research Center for Environment, Water and Desert, at King Saud University in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.
  • This internationally acclaimed scientific prize has proven to be one of Saudi Arabia’s key contributions to water-related issues on a global scale, issues which represent some of the world’s most pressing humanitarian, economic and political concerns. The Prize reflects the true image of a nation committed to the environment. It represents a call to the people of the world – a call for international responsibility.

The Prize Council holds regular meetings around the world. During each round of the award, two meetings are held in Riyadh, a third in the capital of another Arab country, and a fourth in a non-Arab country. This is to encourage the exchange of ideas and to open channels of cooperation among water specialists.

About the Winners :

  1. Creativity Prize: The team of Dr. Rita Colwell (University of Maryland at College Park) and Dr. Shafiqul Islam (Tufts University, USA).
  2. Creativity Prize: Dr. Peter J. Webster (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA).
  3. Surface Water Prize: Dr. Gary Parker (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA).
  4. Groundwater Prize: Dr. Tissa H. Illangasekare (Colorado School of Mines, USA).
  5. Alternative Water Resources Prize:  The team of Dr. Rong Wang & Dr. Anthony G. Fane (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore).
  6. Water Management and Protection Prize: Dr. Daniel P. Loucks – (Cornell University, USA).