Current Affairs PDF

Sarbananda Sonowal to be sworn in as Assam CM and becomes first BJP Government in Assam

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

BJP government formed the Legislative Assembly and Sarbananda Sonowal took charge as the Chief Minister of the state along with 11 ministers.

Assembly Constituencies: 126
Ruling Party: BharatiyaJanata Party
Opposition Party: Indian National Congress
Chief Minister: Sarbananda Sonowal
Governor: Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya
BJP Government has won 60 seats out 126 seats

Delegates: NarendraModi – Prime Minister, Amit Shah – BJP President, Chief Ministers of Punjab – Parkash Singh Badal, Andhra Pradesh – Chandrababu Naidu and Madhya Pradesh – Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Venue: KhanaparaVetrinary College

Speeches by Prime Minister:

  • Assam would be centre for development of the entire Northeast – Act East policy
  • All-round and balanced development in all parts of the country
  • Ensure development of Assam, West Bengal, Bihar, Odisha and the entire Northeast

Other Ministers:

BJP Party

  1. Himanta Biswa SarmaAssam CM
  2. Parimal Suklabaidya
  3. Chandra Mohan Patowari
  4. Naba Kumar Doley
  5. PallabLochan Das
  6. RanjitDatta

AGP Party

  1. Atul Bora
  2. KeshabMahanta

BPF Party

  1. Pramila Rani Brahma
  2. RihanDaimary

Das is the only other former Congress MLA

Speeches by Chief Minister:

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal assured that his government will work towards making the state free from illegal foreigners and corruption.

  • The Chief Minister wished that he would not disappoint the people of Assam and would work with every community of the state.
  • Sonowal also wished speedy recovery of ailing Assam PCC President Anjan Dutta