Current Affairs PDF

Roger Federer wins the Davis Cup Finals

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Switzerland’s Roger Federer beat France’s Richard Gasquet to seal Switzerland’s first Davis Cup triumph. Federer dedicated the victory to all the citizens of Switzerland. Federer has now won everything in the game including 17 grand slam titles and an Olympic gold medal.

Switzerland become only the 14th nation to win the Davis Cup in 115 years – they were runners-up in 1992. The women’s equivalent of the Davis Cup is the Fed Cup.

Davis Cup

The Davis Cup is the premier international team event in men’s tennis, which is run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format.

The competition began in 1900 as a challenge between Great Britain and the United States. By 2013, 130 nations entered teams into the competition.

The most successful countries over the history of the tournament are the United States (winning 32 tournaments and finishing as runners-up 29 times) and Australia (winning 28 times, including four occasions with New Zealand as Australasia, and finishing as runners-up 19 times).