Current Affairs PDF

Richard Flagnagan wins the Man Booker Prize 2014

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Australian author Richard Flanagan has won the Man Booker Prize 2014 for his wartime novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. He is the third Australian to win this award after Peter carey and Thomas keneally.

The book tells the story of Dorrigo Evans, an Australian doctor haunted by a wartime love affair with his uncle’s wife and he is held in a Japanese Prisoner-of-war camp and forced to work on the Thailand-Burma Railway.

The Booker prize is considered to be the Britain’s most prestigious literary award with the cash prize of £50,000.

For the first time, the prize was open to all novels written in English and published in Britain, regardless of the author’s nationality. Previously, only writers from Britain, the Commonwealth nations, Ireland and Zimbabwe were eligible.

Booker Prize:

The Booker Prize was originally known as the Booker-McConnell Prize and it one of the world’s richest literary prizes with the prize money of £50,000.

It is a literary prize awarded each year since 1969 for the best novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom.

The first Booker Prize in 1969 is won by P H Newby for his Literary work “Something to Answer For“.

Indians who have won the Award are,

Arundhati Roy (1997) – The God of Small Things

Kiran Desai (2006) – The Inheritance of Loss

Aravind Adiga (2008) – The White Tiger Novel