Current Affairs PDF

RBI to issue new Rs 5 and Rs 10 coins

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The central bank of India the Reserve Bank is set to issue new Rs 10 and Rs 5 coins.

Key Points:

  • Rs 10 Coin has been minted to celebrate 125th year of National Archives of India.
  • Rs 5 coins to celebrate 150th anniversary of Allahabad High Court.
  • These coins are legal tender as provided in The Coinage Act 2011.
  • On the reverse of the Rs 10 coin there will be an image of National Archives Building in the centre with inscription ‘125 YEARS’ below the image.
  • The year “1891” and “2016” in English shall be written on the upper and lower periphery of the coin respectively.
  • The year “1916” and “2016” in international numerals shall be written respectively on left and right top of the image.
  • The Rs 5 coin face will bear an image depicting centre facade of Allahabad High Court Building emerging from the book.
  • The face of the Rs 5 and Rs 10 coins shall bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the centre with the legend “सत्यमेवजयते” inscribed below.
  • On the left margin with the word “भारत” in Devanagari script and on the right margin with the word “INDIA” in English.
  • RBI will shortly put these new coins into circulation.
  • The existing coins in this denomination shall also continue to be legal tender.

About RBI:

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is India’s central banking institution, which controls the monetary policy of the Indian rupee.

  • The RBI plays an important part in the Development Strategy of the Government of India.
  • The bank is also active in promoting financial inclusion policy and is a leading member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion (AFI).
  • HQ of RBI Mumbai Maharashtra
  • Established in 1 April 1935 (82 years ago)
  • Governor Urjit Patel