Current Affairs PDF

RBI barred Macau and Hong Kong citizens from buying property in India

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Reserve Bank of India has barred Macau and Hong Kong, the two special administrative regions of China, from acquiring or transferring immovable properties in India.

The countries which are previously barred from acquiring or transferring immovable properties in India without permission from the RBI under the Foreign Exchange Management (Acquisition and Transfer of immovable property in India) Regulations, 2000 are

  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan
  • China
  • Iran
  • Nepal
  • Bhutan 

Knowledge is Wealth

  • The Special Administrative Regions (SAR) of China are autonomous territories that fall within the sovereignty of the China, yet do not form part of Mainland China.
  • The Hong Kong SAR was  transferred to China in 1997 pursuant to the Sino-British Joint Declaration of 1984. 
  • The Macau SAR was transferred to China in 1999 pursuant to the Sino-Portuguese Joint Declaration of 1987. 
  • The currency of Macau is Macanese Pataca. The Currency of Hong Kong is Hong Kong Dollar