Current Affairs PDF

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar: Govt Introduced New Set of National Awards in the Field of Science, Tech & Innovation

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Government comes out with a new set of National Awards in the field of Science, Technology and Innovation known as “Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar’’The Government of India (GoI) has introduced Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP), a new set of National Awards in the field of Science, Technology, and Innovation.


To recognize the notable and inspiring contribution made by scientists, technologists, and innovators individually or in teams in various fields of science, technology, and innovation.

About Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP):

i.RVP is set to become one of the highest recognitions in the field of science, technology, and innovation in India, and it will replace nearly 300 awards given by various science departments with 56 centrally administered awards.

ii.The RVP will be given in 13 domains including Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology and innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others.


The RVP will comprise 3 Vigyan Ratna awards, as well as 25 Vigyan Shri, 25 Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, and 3 Vigyan Team awards.

i.Vigyan Ratna (VR) award is set to recognize lifetime achievements & contributions made in any field of science and technology.

ii.Vigyan Shri (VS) award is set to recognize distinguished contributions in any field of science and technology.

iii.Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) award is intended to recognise and encourage young scientists under the age of 45 who have made outstanding contributions to any field of science and technology.

  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar(SSB) awards have been given by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research(CSIR) since 1958 across seven domains.

ii.Vigyan Team (VT) award is to be awarded to a team of three or more scientists/researchers/innovators who have made an exceptional contribution in any field of science and technology while working in a team.


i.Scientists, technologists, and innovators working in any field of science in government or private organizations who have contributed to any field of science and technology shall be eligible for the award.

ii.People of Indian origin living abroad who have made exceptional contributions to Indian communities or society are also eligible for the awards.

Selection Procedure:

The nominations for the Awards will be analysed by the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC) which is headed by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India and comprising Secretaries, scientists and technologists from different fields of science and technology.

Key Points:

i.The RVP awards, which will commence from 2024, will be conferred by the President of India or the Vice President, according to the proposal.

  • The CSIR will coordinate the administration of the awards process for two years, after which it will be taken over by the proposed National Research Foundation.

ii.The nominations for this award will be invited every year on 14th January which would remain open till 28th February (National Science Day).

iii. The awards will be announced on 11th May (National Technology Day) every year and the award ceremony will be held on 23rd August (National Space Day).

  •  All Awards will have a Sanad(Certificate) and a medal.

Recent Related News:

i.On September 11, 2023, the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research’s (CSIR) Director General N Kalaiselvi announced the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) awards for Science and Technology 2022 to be distributed to 12 young scientists across India.Click here to view full Award List

ii.Prime Minister (PM) Narendra Modi declared that 23rd August of every year will be observed as “National Space Day” in India to commemorate the soft landing of Chandrayaan 3 on the Moon.

About Ministry of Science and Technology:
Ministers of state (independent Charges) – Dr. Jitendra Singh (Constituency – Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir)