Current Affairs PDF

Rana wins gold in 50km race walk in National Championships

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Basant Bahadur Singh Rana clinched gold in 50 Km race walk in National Championship held at Jaipur in Rajasthan, the winner clocked 4 hours seven minutes and 24 seconds.

  • The Delhi hailed walker could not achieve the revised Olympics Qualification time of 4:06:00, he must have disappointed with his performance as he would not be eligible to walk in Rio Olympics this time.
  • However in the 20 Km walk stream as many as seven men walkers breached the qualification time limit.
  • Rana has a career best of 3: 56: 48 earlier in the London Olympics that took place in 2012, which was a national record then. Rana wins gold in 50km race walk in National Championships

The Winners of 50 Km Race Walk:

  • Basant Bahadur Singh Rana (Gold).
  • Chandan Singh (Silver).
  • Jitender Singh Rathore (Bronze).

In the other event of Junior Women category of 10 Km Race Walk Neena KT of Kerala clinched gold, BhawnaJat of Rajasthan finished with Silver medal and Priyanka Patel of Uttar Pradesh took bronze medal.

Results of 10 Km Race Walk (Junior Men’s Category)

  • Vikas Singh of Bihar ( Gold)
  • Naveen of Delhi (Silver)
  • EknathTuramberkar  (Bronze)