Current Affairs PDF

Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Union Minister of Education won the Vatayan Lifetime Achievement Award 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union Education Minister Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ conferred with Vatayan Lifetime Achievement Award

On 21st November 2020, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Union Minister of Education received the Vatayan Lifetime Achievement Award 2020 for his contribution to the literary works of India. The award was presented to him by the Vatayan-UK organization in London,England.The Vatayan-UK felicitation ceremony organised as a virtual event by the British Institution Group in England.

  • Along with Minister of Education, Manoj Muntashir, famous poet and lyricist won the International Vatayan Literary award 2020 at the Vatayan-UK felicitation ceremony.

About Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’:

i.He was elected from the Haridwar Parliamentary constituency of Uttarakhand in the 17th Lok Sabha.

ii.He was appointed as the Minister of Human Resource and development in May 2019, following the name change of the ministry as Ministry of Education he is now addressed as Minister of Education.

iii.His “Sparsh Ganga” initiative was added to the Mauritius school curriculum.


i.He has written more than 75 books on various fields and many of them were translated into many national and foregin languages.

ii.His books include Dreams that Don’t Let You Sleep: Based on the Life Skills Management of Dr. Kalam, sakaratmak soch Swami Vivekananda, Life Trials etc.,

iii.The german version of his story collection “Just a desire” – “nureinWunsch” was published in Afro Asian Institute.


i.He received the Sahitya Bharati Award from former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Sahitya Gaurav Samman from former President Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam for his contribution to literature.

ii.He also received the Bharat Gaurav Samman, Good Governance Award by Dubai Government, outstanding Achievement Award by Global Organization of Person of Indian Origin by Mauritius, Himal Gaurav Samman by Nepal for his contribution to the field of administration.

Key People:
Amish Tripathi, writer and director of the Nehru Center, London, Mira Kaushik, Chairman Vatayan, Kavi Anil Sharma Joshi, Vice Chairman Central Hindi Board, Agra, Aditi Maheshwari, Executive Director Vani Prakashan were present at the virtual ceremony.

About Vatayan Awards:

Vatayan Awards is presented by the Vatayan-UK organization, London to recognise and honour the contribution of poets, writers and artists for their works in their respective fields.

Recent Related News:

On March 23, 2020 the Indian-origin American author Ruchika Tomar is named as the winner of the annual PEN/Hemingway Award 2020 for her 1st novel (debut) “A Prayer for Travelers”. She hails from California & is currently working as a lecturer at Stanford University.