Current Affairs PDF

Qatar Masters Open chess tournament title clinched by Magnus Carlsen

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

World champion Magnus Carlsen of Norway won the Qatar Masters Chess Open 2015 after nine exciting rounds of chess & and secures the first place with 7 points.

  • Yu Yangyi, winner of the first edition of the tournament, finishes also with 7 points but he lost the blitz tie-break against Carlsen.
  • Bronze goes to Vladimir Kramnik with 6.5 points.
  • Surya Shekhar Ganguly was the best-placed Indian at 10th place with 6 points.
  • P. Sethuraman was another Indian to score 6points but he stood at 17th place.

Qatar Masters Open chess tournament title clinched by Magnus CarlsenAbout Magnus Carlsen
Sven Magnus Oen Carlsen (25) s a Norwegian chess grandmaster, No. 1 ranked player in the world and reigning World Chess Champion in classical and rapid.

  • In 2004, Carlsen became a Grandmaster at the age of 13 years, 148 days, making him the third youngest grandmaster in history.
  • In 2010, at the age of 19 years, 32 days, he became the youngest chess player in history to be ranked world No. 1.
  • In 2013, Carlsen defeated Viswanathan Anand in the World Chess Championship 2013, thus becoming the new world chess champion.
  • In 2014 FIDE rating list, Carlsen reached his top Elo rating of 2882, the highest in history.

About Qatar Masters Chess Open
The Qatar Masters Open is an open chess tournament organized by Qatar Chess Association in Doha, Qatar. 2015 was the second edition of the Qatar Masters Open.

  • The time control for each of the tournament games was 90 minutes for the first 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move starting from the move 1.
  • Apart from the Prizes for the 10 best players of the tournament there are additional prizes for the best female players, best Arabic players, top two junior players and special prizes in different rating groups.