Current Affairs PDF

Priyanka & Raksha win Chameli Devi Jain Award, 2016

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Priyanka Kakodkar and Raksha Kumar were named as joint winners of the 2015-16 Chameli Devi Jain Award. They were awarded for their work that clubs social concern and compassion with pioneering reportage and analytical skills.Chameli Devi Jain Award.

Priyanka Kakodkar

  • Kakodkar’s reports, which targeted on the acute farming crisis in Maharashtra, were published on the front page of The Times of India in the year 2015
  • More than 50 of her reports were published in a year by the paper

Raksha Kumar

  • Independent journalist Raksha Kumar won the honour as her reports focused on the perilous features of the Union Government’s proposal to amend the Land Acquisition Act, the Forest Rights Act and the Coal Act

About Chameli Jain Devi Award

  • The annual Chameli Devi Award of The Media Foundation is the premier award for women media persons in India
  • It was first awarded in 1982
  • The award for this year will be presented by former Environment Minister Jairam Ramesh
  • It is to be presented at Indian International Centre in New Delhi

Points to note

  • Union Minister of Environment– Prakash Javadekar