Current Affairs PDF

President of India, Ram Nath Kovind Confers 6th Digital India Awards 2020 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

President of India virtually confers the Digital India Awards 2020On December 30, 2020 President of India, Ram Nath Kovind  conferred 6th Digital India Awards(DIA) 2020 through video conferencing in a virtual awards ceremony. 24 digital governance initiatives/ products by Government entities under 7 categories received Digital India Awards 2020. The National Informatics Centre(NIC) under the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY) organized the awards online. It is a biennial award.

  • New 2 categories have been introduced namely, Innovation in Pandemic category and Exemplary Product category in DIA 2020.

Highlights of the Awards:

i.The Department of Post won the gold icon award in the category, ‘Excellence in Digital Governance Ministry/Department (Central)’ for implementing an IT application in the land registration system in India, named as a National Generic Document Registration System (NGDRS).

  • It has already been implemented in 12 states and UTs, including Punjab, Jharkhand, Goa, Manipur, Mizoram, Maharashtra and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.

ii.Aapda Sampoorti Portal of Bihar govt won silver icon award in the category, ‘Innovation in Pandemic’ for innovative initiatives done during COVID-19 lockdown to outreach migrants for providing different kinds of assistance.

  • The e-governance solution was developed under active supervision of CM Office, Bihar and Disaster Management Department with technical supervision of NIC, Bihar.
  • Over  21 lakh stranded workers outside Bihar were provided financial assistance through the ‘Bihar Sahayata Mobile App’.
  • The portal won the award for providing the following features in the single window: Mukhyamantri Vishesh Sahayata Mobile App, Shram Saadhan, Aapda Sahyog and Bihar Sahayata Mobile App.

iii.E-Committee Supreme Court of India, Department of Justice won Platinum award in the category ‘Excellence in Digital Governance Ministry/Department (Central)’ for the E-Courts project.

  • The E-Courts project was implemented by the eCommittee Supreme Court of India, along with the Department of Justice and NIC. It is a Mission Mode Project of the Government of India.
  •  E-committee of supreme court of India consists of Patron-in-Chief Mr Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde, Chief Justice of India; Chairperson Dr Justice Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud, Judge, Supreme Court of India ; Vice-Chairperson Mr Justice R.C. Chavan, Former Judge, Bombay High Court and four members.

iv.Haryana wins Platinum icon award in the category of Excellence in Digital Governance State/UT for its Antyodaya-SARAL portal which digitizes more than 380 services.

  • Overall 31% reduction in processing time has been achieved

v.Tamil Nadu won Gold icon award in the  category of Excellence in Digital Governance State/UT for implementing various eGovernance applications.

vi.The Food and Civil supplies department of Uttar Pradesh has won the Silver icon award in the category of Excellence in Digital Governance State/UT for its following initiatives:

  • e-Point of Sale(PoS) based food distribution, Tracking the vehicles transporting food grains through Global Positioning System(GPS) and online billing and payment for the foodgrains purchased from farmers.

vi.West Bengal won the Excellence in Digital Governance State/UT for ‘eAbgari project’ is an end-to-end supply chain management system of Beverage Alcohol, Medicinal Alcohol, Industrial Alcohol & Life Saving Narcotic Drugs in West Bengal state excise sector.

Table of List of Winners of 6th Digital India Awards 2020 



Platinum Icon Gold Icon Silver Icon
Innovation in Pandemic eSanjeevani – National Telemedicine


Covid-19 Sample Collection

Management System

  • Aapda Sampoorti Portal(Bihar)
  • Pravasi Shramik and Rojgar Setu Portal(Madhya Pradesh)
Excellence in Digital Governance

Ministry/Department (Central)

eCommittee Supreme Court of India,

Department of Justice

Department of Posts
  • Department of Fertilizers
  • Department of Land Resources
Excellence in Digital Governance


Haryana Tamil Nadu
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • West Bengal
Excellence in Digital Governance


Khargone, Madhya Pradesh Changlang, Arunachal Pradesh Kamareddy, Telangana
Open Data Champion Department of Health and Family


Research Data Management in ICAR
  • Food Corporation of India(FCI)
  • Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Exemplary Product Port Community System PCS1x –

National Maritime Single Window

ServicePlus Integrated Temple Management

System – ITMS

Jury Choice Award AarogyaSetu, eOffice

About Digital India Awards:

i.The Digital India Awards (DIA), instituted under the aegis of National Portal of India.

ii.The awards are biennial and the previous editions have been held in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018.

iii.The award is presented to promote innovation in eGovernance and digital transformation of government service delivery mechanism.

iv.The Awards were initially known as Web Ratna Awards until  2014 and from the 2016 season, it was re-named as Digital India Awards.

About National Portal of India:

It is a mission mode project under the National E-Governance Plan, designed and maintained by NIC.

Recent Related News:

i.On 28th October 2020, The Asian Film Awards Academy (AFAA) announced the winners of the 14th Asian Film Awards (AFA14) held at Busan, South Korea. Karsh Kale and the Salvage Audio Collective won the Best Original Music Award 2020 for the film Gully Boy directed by Zoya Akhtar. Yang Ik-Joon, South Korean Actor and Director presented the Award.

ii.On 11th November 2020, M. Venkaiah Naidu, Vice President(VP) of India virtually presented the 2nd National Water Awards for 2019. The awards were presented at an award ceremony on 11th and 12th November 2020 organised by the Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation under the Ministry of Jal Shakti over a virtual platform.

About National Informatics Centre:

Director General – Dr. Neeta Verma
Headquarter – New Delhi, Delhi