Current Affairs PDF

President of India presents National Geoscience Awards 2016

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On April 12, 2017, President Pranab Mukherjee conferred National Geoscience Awards 2016 on 27 bright Geo-scientists of India. The awards were conferred at a ceremony held in Rashtrapati Bhawan.

  • The National Geoscience Awards 2016 comprises one Young Scientist Award and 16 individual/team awards in 11 fields of geosciences.
  • Other dignitaries who attended the award ceremony:  Mr. Piyush Goyal – Minister of National Geoscience Awards 2016State (Independent Charge) of Power, Coal, New & Renewable Energy and Mines, Mr. Arun Kumar – Secretary Mines, Mr. M. Raju – Director General Geological Survey of India and Prof. Ashutosh Sharma – Secretary Department of Science & Technology.

Winner of National Geoscience Awards 2016

  • Young Scientist Award – 2016: Dr. Abhishek Saha, NIO, Goa
  • Section – I: Mineral Discovery & Exploration

FieldAwardeesType of Award
Mineral Discovery & Exploration (excluding fossil fuels) of economic and / or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques) (2 Awards)Shri Chittaranjan Dash, GSI
Shri Dinesh Kumar Thawait, GSI
Shri Rohan Das, GSI
Shri Shamiuddin Ahmad, GSI
Team Award
Coal, Lignite and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration of Economic and / or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques (1 Award)Shri Amit Soni, GSI
Ms. Manju S., GSI
Shri Kailash Chandra Sahoo, GSI
Shri Sayan Kahali, GSI
Team Award
Groundwater Exploration (including project development, hydrogeological studies and management of groundwater resources) (1 Award)Dr. Pradeep Kumar Naik, CGWB, ChandigarhIndividual Award

Section –II: Mining, Mineral Beneficiation And Sustainable Mineral Development

FieldAwardeesType of Award
Mining Technology (including development and application of new methods and technologies, research & development, conservation of mineral resources, systematic mine planning, mine safety, mine fires, mine hazards, mine reclamation & rehabilitation) (2 Awards)Shri Laxman Singh Shekhawat, Hindustan Zinc Limited, Udaipur
Dr. Santosh Kumar Ray, CSIR- Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad
Individual Award
Individual Award
Sustainable Mineral Development (including mine closure, project development, institutional development and capacity building) (1 Award)Dr. Ebhin Reginald Masto, CSIR- Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, DhanbadIndividual Award

Section – III: Basic Geosciences

FieldAwardeesType of Award
Basic Geo-sciences (including Stratigraphy, Structural Geology, Paleontology, Geomorphology, Economic Geology, Geodynamics, Petrology and Geochemistry including Mineralogy, Geochronology and Isotope Geology (2 Awards)Dr. Santanu Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology BombayIndividual Award

Section – IV: Applied Geosciences

FieldAwardeesType of Award
Applied Geology: Engineering Geology, Geo-thermal Energy, Seismotectonics, Geo-statistics, Photo-geology and Remote Sensing andf Geo-Information System(including spatial data management applications and data integration) (2 Awards)Dr. Atul Nanda, Engineers India Ltd.
Dr. Ranjit Rath, Engineers India Ltd.
Shri Saikat Pal, Engineers India Ltd.
Shri Gopi Kannan, Engineers India Ltd.
Prof. Supriyo Mitra, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata
Team Individual Award
Individual Award
Geophysics / Applied Geophysics: New Technologies in geophysical exploration, application of geophysical methods, geo-magnetism, geophysical survey techniques and instrumentation (2 Awards)Dr. N. Purnachandra Rao, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad
Dr. Anand Kumar Chaturvedi, AMDER, Hyderabad
Shri Markandeyulu Amulothu, AMDER, Hyderabad
Dr. Veldi Ramesh Babu, AMDER, Hyderabad
Shri Shailesh Tripathi, AMDER, Hyderabad
Individual Award
Team Award
Geo-Environmental Studies relating to mining, urban, industrial, coastal and desert management, paleoclimate, paleoenvironment, medical geology, climate change and studies related to their impact on ecosystem(1 Award)Dr. Aradhi Keshava Krishna, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, HyderabadIndividual Award
Disaster Management including scientific studies related to natural hazards such as earthquakes, landslides, floods and tsunamis (1 Award)Prof. Javed Husain N. Malik, IIT, KanpurIndividual Award
Ocean Development: Oceanography and Marine Geology (1 Award)Dr. Pratima Mohan Kessarkar, CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, GoaIndividual Award

About National Geoscience Awards:

  • The National Geoscience Awards were instituted by the Ministry of Mines in year 1966.
  • These awards are given to honor extraordinary contribution of individual and teams of scientists in various fields of geosciences.
  • Earlier, these awards were called National Mineral Awards
  • Till 2014, eleven awards of excellence, four young scientist awards and seven hundred thirty four awards have been conferred under National Geoscience Award.