Current Affairs PDF

President Appoints Raghubar Das as Governor of Odisha & Indra Sena Reddy Nallu as Governor of Tripura

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Raghubar Das appointed governor of Odisha, Indra Sena Reddy Nallu of TripuraDroupadi Murmu, President of India, has appointed former Chief Minister(CM) of Jharkhand, Raghubar Das(68 years old), as the 26th Governor of Odisha and Telangana Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Indra Sena Reddy Nallu(73) as 20th Governor of Tripura with effect from the date they assume charge.

  • Raghubar Das will succeed Ganeshi Lal who has been serving as the Governor of Odisha since 2018.
  • Indra Sena Reddy Nallu will succeed Satyadeo Narain Arya who has been serving as the Governor of Tripura since 2021.

About Appointment of Governor:

i.Article 153 of the Constitution of India mandates the presence of a Governor in each state.

ii.Under article 155 of the Constitution, the President of India appoints the Governor on the advice of the Central Government, which is headed by the Prime Minister.

iii.The Governor is appointed for a term of five years.

iv.To be eligible for appointment as Governor, a person must be an Indian citizen and have completed the age of 35 years(Article 157).

Note: Raghubar Das is currently serving as the national vice-president of the BJP.

About Raghubar Das:

i.Raghubar Das was part of the Janata Party in 1977 and later joined the BJP as a founding member in 1980.

ii.In 1995, He was elected as the member of Bihar Legislative Assembly from Jamshedpur East.

iii.After the creation of Jharkhand in 2000, (Jharkhand was created our of Bihar through Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000), he served as the member of  Jharkhand Assembly till 2019.

iv.He served as the 6th Chief Minister of Jharkhand from 2014 to 2019.

  • He was the 1st non-tribal CM of Jharkhand and the 1st CM of Jharkhand to complete a full term in power.

About Indra Sena Reddy Nallu:

i.He has served the Member of Legislative Assembly(MLA) Andhra Pradesh 3 times in 1983 and 1985 from Malakpet in Hyderabad and was re-elected in 1999.

ii.He has served as BJP president in the combined State of Andhra Pradesh from 2003 to 2007 and as the national secretary of the party BJP in 2014

Recent Related News:

On 12th August 2023, the President of India Droupadi Murmu gave assent to four bills including the Digital Personal Data Protection Bill 2023, the Registration of Births and Deaths (Amendment) Bill 2023, the Jan Vishwas (Amendment of Provisions) Bill 2023, and the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill 2023.
About Odisha:
Chief Minister – Naveen Patnaik
Dance forms – Ghumura Dance, Ranapa Dance
River – Vansadhara, Indervati

About Tripura
Chief Minister – Manik Saha
Airport – Khowai Airport
Festival – Garia Puja, Ashokastami Festival