Current Affairs PDF

President appoints 5 new Governors

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind on August 31st, 2019 has appointed 5 new governors namely Dr.Tamilisai Soundararajan, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, Kalraj Mishra, Arif Mohammed Khan and Bandaru Dattatreya for Telangana, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Kerala, and Himachal Pradesh respectively.5 new Governors

Key points
i. Tamilisai Soundararajan: She is appointed as the governor of Telangana. She is the former Tamilnadu chief of the BJP(Bharatiya Janata Party) and its National secretary. The governor post was preceded by ESL Narasimhan who was the Governor of both Telangana and Andhra Pradesh (AP) after its Bifurcation since 2014. He is also recently replaced by Biswabhusan Harichandan as AP governor.
ii. Bhagat Singh Koshyari: He was the former Chief Minister(CM) of Uttarakhand (2nd CM), who also served as National Vice President of BJP and party’s 1st State president in the state. He is now appointed as the governor of Maharashtra succeeding VidyaSagar Rao whose 5-year term comes to an end.
iii. Kalraj Mishra: He is appointed as the Governor of Rajasthan replacing Kalyan Singh. He served as former union minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME) under Prime Minister Modi’s first government. Prior to his appointment he served as the Governor of Himachal Pradesh.
iv. Arif Mohammed Khan:  He is appointed as the Governor of Kerala replacing P Sadhasivam (former chief justice of india) whose 5-year term comes to an end. He served as Former civil aviation minister.
v. Bandaru Dattatreya: He is appointed as the governor of Himachal Pradesh replacing Kalraj Mishra. He previously served as the national vice-president of the BJP, labour&employment minister, and also as a Member of Parliament.

State New governorPreceded by 
TelanganaDr. TamilisaiSoundararajanE S L Narasimhan
MaharashtraBhagat Singh KoshyariVidyaSagar Rao
RajasthanKalraj MishraKalyan Singh
KeralaArif Mohammed KhanP Sathasivam
Himachal PradeshBandaru DattatreyaKalraj Mishra