Current Affairs PDF

Pranab Mukherjee presents National Geoscience Awards 2014

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

 President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the National Geoscience Awards 2014 at a function to be held at RashtrapatiBhavan in New Delhi.

  • All the Awardees were bestowed for their achievements in various areas for the year 2014.
  • 33 geoscientists received the National Geoscience Awards (NGA 2014) tomorrow National Geoscience Awards 2014which includes one Award for Excellence, one Young Scientist Award and 19 individual and / or team awards in 16 fields of geosciences.
  • Professor Ashok Kumar Singhvi was conferred with the highest honour National Geoscience Award for Excellence for his outstanding contributions in the field of sedimentary technologies.
  • While Dr IndraSekharSen have awarded with Young Scientist Award, Along with him, 31 other geoscientists were being given the awards in 13 Various Disciplines.

Geoscience Awards Scheme:

  • These are the prestigious award were instituted in 1966 in the field of Geosciences in the country.
  • The National Geoscience Awards, previously known as the National Mineral Awards, India citizens who is a professionally qualified geo-scientist or engineer or technologist or academician with significant contribution in any field of earth sciences is eligible.

Ministry of Mines:

  • Cabinet Minister: Narendra Singh Toma
  • Minster of State: VishnudeoSai.