Current Affairs PDF

Planning Commission renamed as “NITI Aayog”

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Government of India has renamed Planning commission as National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.

The renaming of the Planning Commission is being seen as the first step towards replacing it with a new-age institution. NITI Aayog will serve as a ‘Think Tank’ of the government. It will also provide governments at the central and state levels with relevant strategic and technical advice across the spectrum of key elements of policy formulation. The Aayog seeks to end “slow and tardy implementation of policy, by fostering better Inter-Ministry coordination and better Centre-State coordination.

The original Planning Commission was set up in March, 1950 through a Cabinet Resolution, which the Modi Government scrapped in August 2014.


  • Chairperson: Prime Minister.
  • Governing Council: CM’s (States) & Lieutenant Governors (Union Territories).
  • Regional Councils: Formed on need-basis, incorporates CM’s & Lt Governors of the region.
  • Members: Full time basis.
  • Part-Time Members: Max 2, Rotational, from relevant institutions.
  • Ex-officio Members:Max 4 from council of ministers, nominated by PM.
  • Special Invitees: Experts, specialists, practitioners with domain knowledge.
  • CEO: Appointed by PM for fixed tenure.
  • Secretariat: If necessary.

Renowned economist Arvind Panagariya is likely to be appointed Vice Chairman of the NITI Aayog.