Current Affairs PDF

Parakram Diwas 2022 – January 23

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Parakram Diwas 2022

Parakram Diwas also known as Courage Day is annually observed across India on 23rd January, the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose to honour and remember the efforts and contribution of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

23rd January 2022 marks the observance of the 2nd Parakram Diwas.


i.In 2021, the government of India has decided to celebrate the 23rd January of every year as Parakram Diwas.

ii.The first ever Parakram Diwas was observed on 23rd January 2021. 

  • In 2021, the Ministry of Culture announced that the year-long celebrations to commemorate the 125th birth anniversary year of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose will formally commence on 23rd January 2021.

Hologram statue:

i.Prime Minister(PM) Narendra Modi unveiled a hologram statue of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose at India Gate.

ii.The hologram of 28×6 feet is powered by a 4K projector capable of delivering 30,000 lumens of brightness will be replaced by a 28-feet granite statue, once it is completed.

iii.The graphic model of the statue has been designed by the team from the National Gallery of Modern Art(NGMA) led by Adwaita Gadanyak, Director-General of the NGMA.

Subhas Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar 2022:

Gujarat Institute of Disaster Management(GIDM) and Professor Vinod Sharma of Sikkim State Disaster Management Authority has been honoured with the Subhas Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar 2022 for their excellent work in disaster management.

  • GIDM has been selected for the award under the Institutional category and Prof Vinod Sharma won the award under the individual category.


The 2022 awards will be presented along with awardees of the year 2019, 2020 and 2021.

About GIDM:

i.Gujarat Institute of Disaster Management(GIDM), established in 2012 has been working on enhancing the Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) capacity of Gujarat.

ii.GIDM has trained around 12,000 professionals on diverse issues related to multi-hazard risk management and reduction during the pandemic through a series of strategically designed capacity building programs.

About Professor Vinod Sharma:

Prof Vinod Sharma is a senior professor at the Indian Institute of Public Administration and Vice-Chairman of the Sikkim State Disaster Management Authority. He was the founder coordinator of the National Centre of Disaster Management, which is now known as the National Institute of Disaster Management.

Subhas Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar:

i.The Government of India via National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) that works under Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) instituted an annual award named ‘Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar’.

ii.The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 51 lakh and a certificate in case of an institution and Rs. 5 lakh and a certificate in case of an individual.