Current Affairs PDF

Overview of 70th Berlin film festival 2020 awards held in Berlin, Germany; “There Is No Evil” won Golden Bear Award for Best Film

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 70th edition of Berlin International Film Festival( Berlinale) 2020 was held in Berlin, Germany from 20 February–1 March 2020. It was the first under the leadership of new Berlin Film Festival heads, business administration director Mariette Rissenbeek and artistic director Carlo Chatrian.The Opening film of the festival was ‘My Salinger Year’& the  Closing film was ‘There Is No Evil’.The member of the Jury panel include:
Jeremy Irons (Jury President),
British actor Bérénice Bejo, French-Argentine actress
Bettina Brokemper, German producer
Annemarie Jacir, Palestinian filmmaker and poet
Kenneth Lonergan, American filmmaker
Luca Marinelli, Italian actor
Kleber Mendonça Filho, Brazilian filmmaker


i.Iranian director Mohammad Rasoulof’s ‘There Is No Evil’,a film about the death penalty in Iran, has clinched the Golden Bear prize 2020 for the best picture at the Festival.

ii.Earlier On February 20, 2020, the External affairs minister(EAM) Dr S. Jaishankar has inaugurated Indian Pavilion at the Festival.

Here are all the winners of the 70th edition of the Berlinale:


S.NoAward NameWon by
1Golden Bear for Best FilmThere Is No Evil by Mohammad Rasoulof
2Silver Bear Grand Jury PrizeNever Rarely Sometimes Always  by Eliza Hittman
3Silver Bear for Best DirectorHong Sang Soo for The Woman Who Ran
4Silver Bear for Best ActressPaula Beer for Undine
5Silver Bear for Best ActorElio Germano for “Hidden Away”
6Silver Bear for Best ScreenplayFavolacce by Fabio D’Innocenzo and Damiano D’Innocenzo
7Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic ContributionJürgen Jürges for cinematography on DAU. Natasha
8Silver Bear Special PrizeDelete History by  Benoît Delépine and Gustave Kervern
9Best Film in the Encounters CompetitionThe Works and Days (of Tayoko Shiojiri in the Shiotani Basin) by C.W. Winter and Anders Edström
10Special Jury Award in the Encounters CompetitionThe Trouble With Being Born by Sandra Wollner
11Best Director in the Encounters CompetitionCristi Puiu for  Malmkrog
12Special Mention by the Encounters JuryIsabella, Matías Piñeiro
13Berlinale Documentary AwardIrradiés by Rithy Panh
14Special Mention by the Jury for the Berlinale Documentary AwardNotes From the Underworld by Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel
15Special Mention by the GWFF Best First Feature Award JuryNackte Tiere, Melanie Waelde
16GWFF Best First Feature AwardLos conductos by Camilo Restrepo
17Golden Bear for Best Short Film“T” by Keisha Rae Witherspoon
18Audi Short Film AwardGenius Loci by Adrien Mérigeau
19Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film)Filipiñana by Rafael Manuel
20Special Mention of the International Jury Generation KplusThe Kites by Seyed Payam Hosseini
21Special Prize of the International Jury in Generation Kplus for the Best Short FilmEl nombre del hijo by Martina Matzkin
22Grand Prix of the International Jury in Generation Kplus for the Best FilmLos Lobos by Samuel Kishi Leopo
23Special Mentions of the International Jury Generation KplusMignonnes by Maïmouna Doucouré; Mamá, mamá, mama by Sol Berruezo Pichon-Rivière
24Panorama Audience Award for Best DocumentaryWelcome to Chechnya by David France
25Panorama Audience Award for Best Feature FilmOtac by Srdan Golubović
26Compass-Perspektive-AwardWalchensee Forever by Janna Ji Wonders
27Teddy Award for Best Feature FilmNo Hard Feelings by Faraz Shariat
28Teddy Award for Best Documentary/Essay FilmIf It Were Love by Patric Chiha
29Teddy Award for Best Short FilmPlayback by Agustina Comedi
30Teddy Award for Special JuryDays by Tsai Ming-liang
31FIPRESCI Prize for CompetitionUndine by Christian Petzold
32FIPRESCI Prize for PanoramaMogul Mowgli by Bassam Tariq
33FIPRESCI Prize for Forum The Twentieth Century by Matthew Rankin
34Special Mention in FIPRESCI PrizeOvertures by The Living and the Dead Ensemble
35Prize of the Ecumenical Jury for CompetitionThere Is No Evil by Mohammad Rasoulof
36Prize of the Ecumenical Jury for PanoramaFather by Srdan Golubović
37Special Mention in Prize of the EcumenicalSaudi Runaway by Susanne Regina Meures
38Crystal Bear for the Best Film in Generation 14PlusOur Lady of the Nile by Atiq Rahimi
39Special Mention Crystal Bear for the Best Film in Generation 14PlusWhite Riot by Rubika Shah
40Crystal Bear for the Best short Film in Generation 14PlusMutts by Halima Ouardiri
41Special Mention Crystal Bear for the Best short Film in Generation 14PlusGoodbye Golovin by Mathieu Grimard
42Grand Prix of the Generation 14Plus International Jury for the Best FilmMy Name Is Baghdad by Caru Alves de Souza
43Special Mention Grand Prix of the Generation 14Plus International Jury for the Best FilmVoices in the Wind by Nobuhiro Suwa
44Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Short FilmMutts by Halima Ouardiri
45Special Mention of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Short FilmWhite Winged Horse by Mahyar Mandegar
46Caligari Film PrizeVictoria by Sofie Benoot, Liesbeth De Ceulaer and Isabelle Tollenaere
47Heiner Carow PrizeGaragenvolk by Natalija Yefimkina
48Kompagnon-Fellowship for Perspektive Deutsches Kino111 by Hristiana Rykova
49Kompagnon-Fellowship for Berlinale TalentsArctic Link by Ian Purnell


About Germany:
Capital– Berlin
Currency– Euro
President– Frank-Walter Steinmeier
Chancellor– Angela Merkel