The 20th Edition of NEXA International Indian Film Academy Awards (IIFA Awards) for 2019 was held on September 18, 2019 at Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Indoor Stadium, Mumbai, Maharashtra. For the first time, the award ceremony was held in India.IIFA-Awards-2019

Key Points:
i. It is an annual award ceremony presented by the International Indian Film Academy and awarded for excellence in cinematic achievements for Bollywood.
ii. It was hosted by an Indian actors, Ayushmann Khurrana and Aparshakti Khurana.
iii. The nominees were announced on August 28, 2019.
iv. The event was produced by Wizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. Ltd, an event management agency headquartered in Mumbai.
v. Bollywood stars like Salman Khan, Ranveer Singh, Vicky Kaushal, Madhuri Dixit, Katrina Kaif and Sara Ali Khan entertained the guests with their on-stage performances.

List of Winners:

Best FilmRaazi
Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female)Alia Bhatt for Raazi
Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male)Ranveer Singh for Padmaavat
Best DirectorSriram Raghavan for Andhadhun
Best Supporting Actor (Female)Aditi Rao Hydari for Padmaavat
Best Supporting Actor (Male)Vicky Kaushal for Sanju
Best Debutant (Female)Sara Ali Khan for Kedarnath
Best Debutant (Male)Ishaan Khatter for Dhadak and Beyond the Clouds
Best Playback Singer (Male)Arijit Singh for “Ae Watan”- Raazi
Best Playback Singer (Female)Harshdeep Kaur and Vibha Saraf for “Dilbaro” – Raazi
Best LyricistAmitabh Bhattacharya for “Dhadak (Title Track)”- “Dhadak”
Best Music DirectorAmaal Mallik, Guru Randhawa, Rochak Kohli, Saurabh-Vaibhav, Yo Yo Honey Singh and Zack Knight (Sonu Ke Titu Ki Sweety)
Best Story/ ScreenplaySriram Raghavan, Pooja Ladha Surti, Arijit Biswas, Yogesh Chandekar and Hemanth Rao for Andhadhun
Best music direction in the last 20 yearsPritam Chakraborty for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Best director in the last 20 yearsRajkumar Hirani
Best film in the last 20 yearsRakesh Roshan’s film Kaho Na Pyaar Hai
Best actor in the last 20 yearsRanbir Kapoor for Barfi
Best actress in the last 20 yearsDeepika Padukone for Chennai Express
Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema (Dance & Choreography)Saroj Khan
Critics’ Award for Best FilmAndhaDhun
Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female)Neena Gupta, Badhaai Ho
Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male)Ranveer Singh, “Padmaavat”
Best Debut DirectorAmar Kaushik, Stree
Best DialogueAkshat Ghildial, Badhaai Ho
Best Original StoryAnubhav Sinha, Mulk
Best Actor (Male) in a Short FilmHussain Dalal, Shameless
Best Actor (Female) in a Short FilmKirti Kulhari, Maya
People’s Choice Award for Best Short FilmPlus Minus
Best Short Film (Fiction)Rogan Josh
Best Short Film (Non Fiction)The Soccer City
Best Music AlbumPadmaavat
Best LyricsGulzar for Ae Watan, Raazi & for AndhaDhun
Best Background ScoreDaniel George, AndhaDhun
Best Sound DesignKunal Sharma, Tumbbad
Best ChoreographyKruti Mahesh Midya, Jyoti Tomaar for Ghoomar, “Padmaavat”
Best CinematographySudeep Chatterjee — Padmaavat
Best EditingPooja Ladha Surti, AndhaDhun
Best CostumeSheetal Sharma, Manto
Best Production DesignNitin Zihani Chaudhary and Rajesh Yadav (Tumbbad)
Best VFX (Visual Effects)Red Chillies Fx, Zero
Best Sound MixingAjay Kumar P.B (Post House)- Andhadhun
Best Special EffectsFilmgate Films AB-Tumbbad
Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema (Lifetime Achievement Award )Legendary actor and comedian, Syed Ishtiaq Ahmed Jafri, aka Jagdeep

About IIFA Awards:
♦ IIFA awards were first awarded in the year 2000.
♦ IIFA Utsavam (first awarded in 2016) is the South Indian segment of annual IIFA awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here