Current Affairs PDF

2023 Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism; Books, Drama and Music: Associated Press won Prize under Public Service 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

List of 2023 Pulitzer winners in journalism, arts & lettersOn 9th May 2023, the winners of the 2023 Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism; Books, Drama and Music; and Special Citations were announced.

  • Associated Press won the 2023 Pulitzer Prize in Journalism under the Public Service category. Associated Press’ journalists Mstyslav Chernov, Evgeniy Maloletka, Vasilisa Stepanenko and Lori Hinnant were recognized for reporting from the besieged city of Mariupol that bore witness to the slaughter of civilians in Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.
  • Demon Copperhead, by Barbara Kingsolver (Harper) and Trust, by Hernan Diaz (Riverhead Books) won the 2023 Pulitzer Prize in Books, Drama and Music under the Fiction category.
  • The Pulitzer Prize, administered by Columbia University in New York, United States of America(USA), is considered the most prestigious prize in US journalism.
  • Categories: The Pulitzer Prize recognises the work in 22 categories, i.e. 15 journalism categories; seven arts categories and one special citation.

About the Pulitzer Prize:

i.The Pulitzer Prize was established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher. The Pulitzer Prizes were first awarded in 1917.


  • Only U.S. citizens are eligible to apply for the Prizes in Books, Drama and Music (with the exception of the History category, in which the book must be a history of the United States but the author may be of any nationality).
  • For the Journalism competition, entrants may be of any nationality but work must have appeared in U.S. newspaper, magazine or news site that publishes regularly.

iii.Gold Medal and Cash Prize:

  • Out of the 22 categories, Only the winner in the Public Service category of the Journalism competition is awarded a gold medal.
  • The Public Service prize is always awarded to a news organization, not an individual, although an individual may be named in the citation.
  • In 21 other categories’ winners receive a US$15,000 cash award and a certificate.

2023 Pulitzer Prize winners in different Categories:

2023 Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism: 

Public ServiceAssociated Press, for the work of Mstyslav Chernov, Evgeniy Maloletka, Vasilisa Stepanenko and Lori Hinnant
Breaking News ReportingStaff of the Los Angeles Times
Investigative ReportingStaff of The Wall Street Journal
Explanatory ReportingCaitlin Dickerson of The Atlantic
Local Reporting (There were two winners under this category. They don’t share the category, each receive the full prize amount of US$15,000)Anna Wolfe of Mississippi Today, Ridgeland, Miss.
John Archibald, Ashley Remkus, Ramsey Archibald and Challen Stephens of, Birmingham
National ReportingCaroline Kitchener of The Washington Post
International ReportingStaff of The New York Times
Feature WritingEli Saslow of The Washington Post
CommentaryKyle Whitmire of, Birmingham
CriticismAndrea Long Chu of New York magazine
Editorial WritingNancy Ancrum, Amy Driscoll, Luisa Yanez, Isadora Rangel and Lauren Costantino of the Miami Herald
Illustrated Reporting and CommentaryMona Chalabi, contributor, The New York Times
Breaking News PhotographyPhotography Staff of Associated Press
Feature PhotographyChristina House of the Los Angeles Times
Audio ReportingStaff of Gimlet Media, notably Connie Walker

2023 Pulitzer Prizes – Books, Drama & Music:

FictionDemon Copperhead, by Barbara Kingsolver (Harper)
Trust, by Hernan Diaz (Riverhead Books)
DramaEnglish, by Sanaz Toossi
HistoryFreedom’s Dominion: A Saga of White Resistance to Federal Power, by Jefferson Cowie (Basic Books)
BiographyG-Man: J. Edgar Hoover and the Making of the American Century, by Beverly Gage (Viking)
Memoir or AutobiographyStay True, by Hua Hsu (Doubleday)
PoetryThen the War: And Selected Poems, 2007-2020, by Carl Phillips (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
General NonfictionHis Name Is George Floyd: One Man’s Life and the Struggle for Racial Justice, by Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa (Viking)
MusicOmar, by Rhiannon Giddens and Michael Abels

There were no Special Citations for 2023 Pulitzer Prizes.

Recent Related News:

On 7th March 2023, Sir David Alan Chipperfield (David Chipperfield), a 69-year-old British Civic Architect, urban planner and activist, won the  Pritzker Architecture Prize 2023, the architect’s most prestigious award, for his timeless modern design that confronts climate urgencies, transform social relationships and reinvigorates cities.