Current Affairs PDF

Overview of 2019 China Open held in Jiangsu, China

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 2019 China open, officially called as VICTOR China Open 2019 was held at Olympic Sports Center Xincheng Gymnasium in Changzhou, Jiangsu, China from September 17-22, 2019. The tournament which was organized by Chinese Badminton Association and sanctioned by the Badminton World Federation (BWF), had a total prize money of the United States(US) $1,000,000.2019 China Open

Carolina Marin wins women’s singles in China open 2019 by defeating Taiwanese player Tai Tzu Ying to clinch a second consecutive title
Spanish badminton star Carolin Marin, the reigning Olympic champion and also three-time world champion defeated former world no.1 Taiwanese player Tai Tzu Ying to win the second consecutive title at china open 2019.

Kento Momota wins men’s singles in China Open 2019 defeating Anthony Sinisuka Ginting 
No.1 world ranking Japanese badminton player Kento Momota defeated Indonesian player Anthony Sinisuka Ginting and won the men’s singles title in the 2019 China Open.
Other results:
i. Indonesian players Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo won the men’s doubles at the china open 2019 by defeating Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan, both from Indonesia while Chinese players Chen Qingchen and Jia Yifan won the Women’s doubles title by defeating Japanese players Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi.
ii. Mixed doubles: Chinese badminton players Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong won the mixed doubles event in the tournament by defeating Wang Yilü and Huang Dongping both from China.
List of winners:

Category Winner Runner
Women’s singlesCarolin Marin (Spain)Tai Tzu Ying (Taiwan)
Men’s singlesKentoMomota (Japan)Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (Indonesia)
Men’s doublesMarcus Fernaldi Gideon (Indonesia) & Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesia)Mohammad Ahsan (Indonesia) &  Hendra Setiawan (Indonesia)
Women’s doublesChen Qingchen (China) & JiaYifan (China)Misaki Matsutomo (Japan) & Ayaka Takahashi (Japan)
Mixed doublesZheng Siwei (China) & Huang Yaqiong (China)Wang Yilü (China) & Huang Dongping (China)

About BWF:
Headquarters- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Founded- 5 July 1934.
President-Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen.