Current Affairs PDF

Overview of 17th Yonex French Open 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Yonex French Open 2019, a Super 750 badminton tournament, was held at Stade Pierre de Coubertin, Paris, France from October 22-27, 2019. It was the 17th tournament of the 2019 Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Tour and was a part of the French Open championships. It was organized by French Badminton Federation with sanction from the BWF and had a prize money of $750,000.
List of Winners:

Category Winner Runner
Men’s Singles Chen Long (China) Jonatan Christie (Indonesia)
Women’s Singles An Se-young (South Korea) Carolina Marín (Spain)
Men’s Doubles Marcus Fernaldi Gideon & Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesia) Satwiksairaj Rankireddy & Chirag Shetty (India)
Women’s Doubles Lee So-hee & Shin Seung-chan (South Korea) Kim So-yeong & Kong Hee-yong (South Korea)
Mixed Doubles Praveen Jordan & Melati Daeva Oktavianti (Indonesia) Zheng Siwei & Huang Ya Qiong (China)
  1. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty become the 2nd Indian doubles pair after Partho Ganguli and Vikram Singh in 1983 to win the French Open.

About BWF:
Formation: 1934
Headquarters: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
President: Poul-Erik Høyer