Current Affairs PDF

Odisha, Sikkim and Mizoram included in ‘One Nation-One Ration Card’ scheme

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Odisha, Sikkim, Mizoram join ‘One Nation-One Ration CardOn June 1, 2020 The Union Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution Ram Vilas Paswan informed that Odisha, Sikkim and Mizoram have joined the ‘One Nation-One Ration Card’ scheme on ‘Integrated Management of Public Distribution System’(IM-PDS) a total of 20 states/Union Territories(UTs) in the scheme.

Targets made

  • All states will be added in the scheme & the scheme will be operational all over India by March 2021
  • Three more States namely- Uttarakhand, Nagaland and Manipur will also be added to the national cluster by August 2020

Scheme execution in Odisha, Sikkim and Mizoram

i.The necessary arrangements like preparatory activities to integrate these states with the national cluster particularly upgradation of electronic Point of Sale (ePoS) software.

ii.The integration with central IM-PDS and Annavitran portals for the availability of ration cards/beneficiaries data in Central Repository, requisite testing of national portability transactions are completed with the support of the central National Informatics Centre (NIC) team.

iii.the national/ inter-State portability transactions under the scheme will be enabled in these states with effect from the distribution month of June 2020.

States/UTs enabled with the facility

Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Punjab, Telangana, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh.

Major Highlights

i.The Department of Food & Public Distribution is taking constant efforts to include the remaining States and UTs to the national cluster.

ii.Ram Vilas Paswan requested the 20 States/UTs to commence the national/ inter-State portability transactions in June 2020 as beneficiaries can take advantage of portability service with immediate effect which will also benefit the migrants anywhere in these 20 States/UTs.

Key Points

  • Under this plan National Food Security Act (NFSA), 2013 ration cards which have recorded at least one Aadhaar authenticated transaction in the last 6-months shall be eligible for the national portability transactions.
  • Web-services for reporting of portability transaction details to the central dashboard are also enabled for these States, the central NIC team shall be assisting the State Governments to rollout ‘One Nation One Ration Card’ plan.

Objective of the scheme

The scheme enables the NFSA ration cardholders to avail their subsidised foodgrains from any ePoS software-enabled Fair Price shop(FPS) anywhere in the country, by using the existing/same ration card after Aadhaar authentication on ePoS devices.

About Mizoram
Capital– Aizawl
Chief Minister(CM)– Pu Zoramthanga 
Governor– PS Sreedharan Pillai

About Sikkim
CM– Prem Singh Tamang (Golay)
Governor– Ganga Prasad

About Odisha
Capital– Bhubaneswar
CM– Naveen Patnaik
Governor– Ganeshi Lal