Current Affairs PDF

Odisha Signed MoU with NCDC to Promote Farmer Producer Organisations

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Odisha govt signs MoU with NCDC for promoting Farmer Producer OrganisationOn 12th September 2020, Government of Odisha signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with National Cooperative Development Corporation (NCDC) to promote and manage the farmer producer organisations with the central sector scheme.

Rohit Kumar Lenka, Director of Horticulture on behalf of Agriculture and Farmers’ Empowerment (A & FE) Department, Government of Odisha and Shardul S. Jadhav, Regional Director (Bhubaneswar) of NCDC signed the MoU at Krushi Bhawan in the presence of Suresh Kumar Vashishth, Special Secretary, A and FE Department.


i.Under the central scheme, National Centre for Cold-chain Development (NCCD) will form Farmer Producer Organisations(FPOs) and provide training and guidance to the small and marginal farmers of Odisha to tackle the huddles in production, quality, optimum price realisation, credit, seed production and marketing.

ii.These FPO’s will be managed according to the Cooperative Society Act.

iii.This Central Section scheme is implemented in the state to benefit the farmers because of their skilled guidance, hardworking efficiencies and determination and will power for quick disposals.

Recent Related News:

i.On June 29, 2020 Odisha government in a high-level meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy decided to implement a new initiative ‘Sabuja Odisha’. The initiative will increase green cover through extensive plantations over 1,30,264 Hectares of land.

ii.Odisha Government launched a new scheme ‘Promotion of Intensive Aquaculture through Introduction of Bio- flocTechnology during the year 2020-21’

About NCDC:
Managing Director– Sundeep Kumar Nayak
Headquarters– New Delhi

About Odisha:
Chief Minister– Naveen Patnaik (serving his 5th term as the chief Minister of Odisha)
Stadium– Kalinga Stadium (outdoor -Hockey), Barabati Stadium (outdoor- Cricket), East Coast Railway Stadium(outdoor -Cricket), Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium, Railway Indoor Stadium.