Current Affairs PDF

Odisha governor Ganeshi lal dedicated BPCL  LPG bottling plant at Balangir, Odisha 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On December 27,2019 the governor of Odisha, Shri Ganeshi Lal dedicated the BPCL(Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited) LPG (Liquefied Petroleum Gas) bottling plant at Balangir city in Odisha. This state-of-the-art LPG plant was built within record 19 months which is 3 months ahead of schedule.LPG bottling odishaBalangit LPG bottling plant:

i.Cost of completion: The foundation stone for the plant was laid on May 21, 2018 and is set up at a cost of Rs 103 crores.

ii.As of 2014, only 13.20 crore LPG consumers were present in this country which has now crossed 27 crores. Odisha alone constitutes 80 lakh consumers.

iii.This new plant would benefit 14 districts in western part of Odisha. It would also lead to 500 direct and indirect employment generation.

iv.Members Present:  Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Minister for Petroleum & Natural Gas and Steel(MoPNG&S); Shri. Arun Kumar Sahoo, Minister for Agriculture & Farmers Empowerment of Govt. Of Odisha; Smt.Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo, Member of Parliament(MP), Balangir; Shri Narasingha Mishra, Member of the Legislative Assembly(MLA), Balangir and other officials were present during the event.

Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited :

  • It is a Maharatna PSU(Public Sector Undertaking) under the Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas.
  • It already has an LPG bottling plant at Khurda, Odisha.
  • Other LPG bottling plants:The oil marketing companies have LPG bottling plants in Odisha’s  Balasore, Jharsuguda, Khurda and Jatni. They also plan to set up new plants at Khurda and Rayagada of Odisha. Thus Odisha  will have a total of 7 LPG Bottling Plants once all the new plants are completed.
  • The bottling capacity of these 7 bottling plants will be Rs.4.06 crores cylinders per year.

About Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited(BPCL):
Founded- 1976.
Headquarters- Mumbai, Maharashtra.
Chairman and Managing Director(MD)- D.Rajkumar.